Research Guides: Company Information: Company ownership

Company ownership

The following Library databases provide information on ownership of public companies.

Provides an ownership summary including top shareholders, investor type (individual, corporate, investment managers etc.), style of investment, investor location and more.

Access restricted to current CityU staff and students. Available only in the Library. Please enquire at the IT Help Desk.

OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Provides details of shareholders’ names and percentage of holdings. In OSIRIS, enter company name. Click on "Ownership data" in right column.

Parent and subsidiary information

To locate information about parent companies and their subsidiaries you can search the following library databases.

OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Provides a detailed list of direct and indirect subsidiaries of public companies including those subsidiaries that are private companies. In OSIRIS, enter company name. Select "Ownership data" from right column.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Lists global ultimate parent, domestic ultimate parent and subsidiary information. To search, select "Company information" from top of search screen.

Mergers and acquisitions - Library databases

Refinitiv Eikon This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and authoritative source for mergers & acquisitions information. It includes information about public as well as some large private company information.
Available in the Library only. Access restricted to current CityU staff and students.
OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Search for a company then select "News & deals" -- "Mergers & acquisitions deals" to see the headlines (only) of news reports of mergers and acquisitions by the selected company.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Mergers and acquisitions by major companies are usually considered newsworthy events. You can search Factiva to locate articles from newspapers and business magazines.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
For case studies and analyses of mergers and acquisitons by companies. Select "Advanced Search", under "Document type" select "Case Study."

Mergers and acquisitions - Websites

There are a number of free sites on the Web that provide daily updates and news about Mergers & Acquisitions by major companies.

Try:

Reuters.com (http://www.reuters.com/). Select "Business" -- "Deals"