Research Guides: Company Information: Financial and Market Data

Financial and market data

Take a look at the Library databases and selected websites listed below to find financial and market information about a company.

Key financial databases

OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Covers publicly listed companies from around the world. Contains financial information (income statements, balance sheets, cash flows, key ratios, total assets), ownership data, stock data, earnings estimates, ratings and more.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains financial information from a company's annual report. Can customize reports. Select "Companies/Markets" from the search screen banner.
BankFocus This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed financial information on public & private banks worldwide including ratings reports.
WisersOne This link opens in a new window
For Hong Kong listed companies. To search for financial highlights, click on the nine-dots icon (top left of screen). Select "WiseSearch" -- "Listed Company".

Research databases

Refinitiv Eikon This link opens in a new window
Covers global economic, company and financial data.
Available in the Library only. Access restricted to current CityU staff and students.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) This link opens in a new window
Includes financial, accounting, banking, management and insurance data. For current CityU staff and students only.
Remote access limited to faculties, research assistants and postgraduate students.

Other sources

巨靈財經資訊系統 Genius Finance This link opens in a new window
(Library database).Provides full text access to about 140 Chinese newspapers and periodicals, covering topics such as securities, futures, banking, insurance, foreign exchanges, economic theories, & more.

FT.com
(Website) From the Financial Times newspaper, U.K. Covers company performance, news, analyst reports, business profile and financials tabs providing in-depth company data and news.
more...less...
This is a free site available on the Web.
All company and financial databases

Key financial ratios

Looking for key financial ratios for a company? Try the following Library resources:

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Offers detailed financial reports on public companies including ratios.
OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Covers over 80,000 public companies from around the world.
BankFocus This link opens in a new window
Covers public and private banks
Refinitiv Eikon This link opens in a new window
Worldwide coverage of companies.
Available in the Library only. Access restricted to current CityU staff and students. Please enquire at the IT Help Desk.

Websites

Reuters
Enter company name or stock code.
Yahoo Finance
FT.com
From the Financial Times newspaper, U.K. Covers company performance, news, analyst reports, business profile and financials tabs providing in-depth company data and news.

Credit ratings of a company

For an independent evaluation of the financial status of a company refer to credit ratings from organisations such as Moody's, Standard & Poor's and Fitch.

The following are Library resources:

OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Contains credit ratings from Moody’s, S&P (Standard & Poor’s), Fitch or WVB. Select "Ratings" to view the ratings for an individual company in OSIRIS.
Refinitiv Eikon This link opens in a new window
Covers global economic, company and financial data.
Available in the Library only. Access restricted to current CityU staff and students.
BankFocus This link opens in a new window
Has ratings from Fitch, Moody's and Standard & Poor's, updated daily. Also includes ratings from EIU and Capital Intelligence. Covers public and private banks worldwide.