Research Guides: Industry Information: Industry statistics & ratios

Industry statistics for Hong Kong

The sources below are from the Hong Kong Government.

DATA.GOV.HK - Commerce and Industry
Statistics aggregated from the Government of Hong Kong departments.
Hong Kong Industry Profiles
From the HKTDC. Select from the profiles for service industries or manufacturing industries. Each profile will include brief performance statistics.
Hong Kong Annual Digest of Statistics
From the Census and Statistics Department, Government of Hong Kong. Refer to 'Business Performance' section.
Snapshot of Hong Kong
From the Census and Statistics Department, Government of Hong Kong.
Business Prospects
From the Census and Statistics Department, Government of Hong Kong

Industry statistics for overseas

Refer below to Library databases and freely available websites for statistics from overseas. Data for Hong Kong is also available in some of these sources allowing you to make comparisons with other countries.

AllThatStats This link opens in a new window
Library database. Provides access to official time-series statistics from national and international sources, as well as semi-official sources, including the World Bank, WTO and the OECD, etc.

INDSTAT
From UNIDO (United Nations Industrial Development Organization). Covers industry stats on employees, establishments, outputs, value-added, wages & salaries.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Browse by indicators or specific OECD databases.
Monthly bulletin of statistics on-line This link opens in a new window
From UNdata (United Nations). Select by 'topic', then by country.

Statista: the statistics portal
Web site. Aggregates statistics from market research organizations, businesses and governments. Look for information under the 'Industries' or "Topics' options. A fee is charged for access to detailed data.

搜數網 Soshoo This link opens in a new window
Statistics for Mainalnd China, Taiwan, Macau and Hong Kong.

Industry Facts (U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis)
BEA's Industry Facts provide industry specific information on value added, intermediate inputs, and gross output in real and current dollars. Now with Industry Facts, you can access consolidated data tables or print a one page overview of your industry's latest statistics.

Industry norms & ratios

Industry norms and ratios are used to measure industry performance. They are calculated by measuring the financial performance of a group of companies within a particular industry. From these calculations an average or benchmark figure for that industry is arrived at.

Use industry averages and ratios to:

locate financial information about an industry.
compare the financial performance of a company against the industry sector in which it operates.

Census and Statistics Department, Government of Hong Kong
Enter the keywords, industry ratios, or industry averages, to see the range of available data.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Includes industry averages and ratios for over 60 global industries. Select 'Companies/Markets' -- 'Industry'.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more on all business disciplines.

Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios [print]
For the U.S. (Historical). Provides 50 performance indicators on nearly 200 industries. Library's holdings start from 1991 to 2014.

Industry classification codes

Industry classification codes are used to group together companies into industries based on similar activities, services or the production of similar products or methods of production.

Using these codes makes it easier to compare industry statistics across countries, search for information by industry, and search for companies by industry. You can also refer to them to get a clear definition of an industry.

Commonly used Industry Classification Codes

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
NAICS is one of the most commonly used codes
HSIC (Hong Kong Standard Industry Classification)
Used by the Hong Kong government to collect data and statistics.
GICS (Global Industry Classification Standard)
Used by the global financial community to group to together companies in financial markets.
Hang Seng Industry Classification System (select "Products & Services")
HSICS is a comprehensive industry classification system designed for the Hong Kong stock market.
NACE - for Europe
Industry classification code for Europe
SIC (Standard Industry Classification Code)
Replaced by NAICS but still used by some organisations e.g. SEC (Securities Exchange Commission) in the U.S.
Other industry classification codes
From Wikipedia, lists other classification codes and in what industries or countries they are used.

Search for information using industry classification codes

You can search the Library databases Business Source Complete and ProQuest One Business (Advanced search) by NAICS code to find articles, reports, and more about an industry. Search the Library database OSIRIS (company financial information) by SIC, NAICS, NACE, GICS, and more to find public companies by industry.

Historical & current statistics in the Library's collection

Search the CityU LibraryFind by Subject to locate historical and some current statistics available in both print and electronic format.

Examples of searches include:

Industrial statistics -- Periodicals
Industrial statistics -- China -- Hong Kong -- Periodicals.
Industrial statistics -- United States -- Periodicals.
Statistics -- Databases -- Periodicals

Indicators of Industry and Services
From the OECD. From 1998 to 2001.