Research Guides: Statistics: Economic & business statistics

Statistics - International - Business & economics

AllThatStats Covers economic, financial, industry and trade statistics from the World Bank, IMF, OECD and other organizations.

Economic Indicators

Financial markets

Refinitiv Eikon [Library database]. Covers data on global equity and merger & acquisition issues. Available in the Library only. Access restricted to current CityU staff and students. Please enquire at the IT Help Desk.
Wall Street Journal International Markets. Provides indices for over 80 countries.
WRDS [Library database]. Financial and market data on companies in over 80 countries.

Industry

Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online From UNdata (United Nations). Select by 'topic', then by country.
OECD iLibrary. Select Industry and Services, then choose country.
Statista: the statistics portal Web site. Aggregates statistics from market research organizations, businesses and governments. Look for information under the 'Industries' or "Topics' options. A fee is charged for access to detailed data.
UNIDO (United Nations Industrial Development Organization). Covers industry stats on employees, establishments, outputs, value-added, wages & salaries.

Labor statistics

Databook of International Labour Statistics. From the Japan Institute of Labour Policy & Training.
Gapfinder. Displays time series of development statistics for all countries.
Labor Force Statistics. From the OECD
Laborsta. From the ILO (International Labour Office).

Marketing statistics

Asian marketing data and statistics 2007/2008 [print]
Consumer Asia Pacific and Australasia [print] Covers market sizes for consumer products.
Consumer China [print] Provides demographic and consumer statistics as well as data on brand shares, retail distribution, consumer expenditure trends and more.
Eurostat regional yearbook [print] Provides statistics on Europeans' lifestyle.
International marketing data and statistics. [print] Covers socio-economic trends,consumer expenditure, retailing, consumer market size and more.

Public accounts, money and finance statistics

International financial statistics. From the International Monetary Fund. It includes exchange rates, national interest rates, CPI, exports, imports, foreign exchange information and more.

Trade statistics

International Trade by Commodity Statistics. From the OECD iLibrary.
Trade Map Discover import & export values, volumes, growth rates, market shares, trade blocs, & more.
UN Comtrade (United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database)
World Trade Organization (WTO) Statistics Database.

You can search the CityU LibraryFind to locate current and historical statistics on business and economics.

These are available both on the web and in print. The most recent statistics are generally available on the Web.

Examples of searches by subject include the following:

Also search by country e.g.: