Skip to main content

Free Online Resources During the COVID-19 Outbreak

This is a collection of free, limited time only resources to use during the COVID-19 outbreak.

Resources from publishers

  • AMS (American Meteorological Society) Journals Online - All AMS journals articles are freely available one year after publication date normally. Currently, all journal articles are freely available, effective from 25 March to 30 June 2020.
  • Annual Reviews - Annual Reviews removes access control in response to COVID-19 pandemic (until 15 June 2020).
  • Booklist - All Booklist and Book Links content on this website is freely available until further notice. 
  • Bloomsbury Digital Resources - The following Bloomsburg digital collections are available for free on an unlimited access basis (until 30 June 2020).
    Bloomsbury Architecture Library
    Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
    Bloomsbury Collections
    Bloomsbury Cultural History 
    Drama Online
    Screen Studies
  • Chinese and English Newspapers of Modern China 上海圖書館近代報紙資源 - To support the research community during the coronavirus outbreak, trial access to the Chinese and English Newspapers of Modern China is provided (until 2 August 2020). The database includes the following resources:

    - 《字林洋行中英文報紙全文數據庫》 :包含《北華捷報》(The North-China Herald )、《字林西報》(The North-China Daily News)、《上海新報》、《滬報》、《漢報》、《消閒報》以及《字林西報行名錄》(The North-China Desk Hong List)

    - Chinese newspapers:《新聞報》、《時報》、《民國日報》、《中央日報》、《益世報》、《大公報》、《小報》1-4輯等400餘種

    - English newspapers:《大陸報》(The China Press), 《上海泰晤士報》(The Shanghai Times), 《大美晚報》(The Shanghai Evening Post & Mercury), 《上海晚郵》(The Shanghai Evening Courier),《上海差報》(The Shanghai Courier),《中華快報》(The Shanghai Courier & China Gazette)

  • De Gruyter Ebooks - Free access to over 75,000 downloadable e-books covering titles published by University Presses such as Harvard University Press, Princeston University Press and more (until 30 Jun 2020).
  • Elsevier (via ScienceDirect) - Free access to 256 e-textbooks during the COVID-19 period (until 31 August 2020)
  • IEEE eLearning Library - The IEEE eLearning Library is a series of engaging and highly interactive online learning tutorials. It offers nearly 500 online courses in all areas of engineering and information technology on the IEEEXplore platform. These courses are available for free until June 30, 2020. 
  • JSTOR - Ebooks - Provides expanded access to over 35,000 ebooks (until 30 June 2020). 
  • JSTOR - Journals & Primary Sources - Some journals and primary source collections included Lives of Literature, Sustainability, 19th Century British Pamphlets etc. could be accessed (until 30 June 2020). 
  • JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) - In addition to the library subscribed JoVE sections, all JoVE Science Education videos are now available for free access (until 15 June 2020).
  • Ohio State University Press - For the duration of the COVID-19 pandemic, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository.
  • Project MUSE - It supports its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on their platform. MUSE expects to announce additional participants and will continually update the list of publishers offering free access to content on this webpage. Free access varies depends on the publishers.
  • ProQuest - The following ProQuest databases are available for free (until 30 June 2020):
    - ProQuest Central 
    - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
    - Academic Video Online (in Alexander Street Press)
  • Springer Nature E-textbooks - Free access to a range of  Springer Nature e-textbooks from all disciplines (until 30 Jul 2020). 
  • University of California Press - In recognition of the impact of Covid-19 on-campus instruction and the rise of unplanned distance learning, University of California Press is pleased to make all of online journals content free to all through June 2020.
  • University of Michigan Press - University of Michigan Press will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) free-to-read for the remainder of the academic term. Note they will be free-to-read, not to download, during this time (until 30 June 2020).