Skip to main content

Measuring Research Impact

Provides the common tools and methods to evaluate the impact of research

Free databases

In addition to “Journal Citation Report” and “Scopus Journal Analyzer”, which are only accessible through subscription, there are in fact many free databases and tools that can also help you evaluate the quality of journals. This page lists some of these databases for you to further explore.

SJR SCImago Journal & Country Rank; JournalM3trics

The following open access databases use the citation data in the Scopus Database to calculate the journal impact values.

SJR SCImago Journal & Country Rank:

 

www.scimagojr.com

 

  • Contains SJR values derived from the citation data in the Scopus Database
  • Journal list can be generated for a subject category. High impact journals indexed in Scopus can be identified by sorting journals' SJR
  • Also contains country ranking data

 

JournalM3trics:

 

www.journalmetrics.com

 

  • Contains SNIP & SJR values derived from the citation data in the Scopus Database

Refer to the "What are SJR & SNIP ..." box on the "Scopus Journal Analyzer" page for more about these metrics.

Eigenfactor.org

www.eigenfactor.org     

 

Using the same dataset as "Journal Citation Reports" (JCR), the Eigenfactor metrics try to overcome some problems inherent to the JCR Impact Factor:

  • Citation data are gathered for 5 years
  • Self-citations are removed
  • Quality of the citing journals is considered
  • Differences in citation patterns among disciplines are adjusted

The following metrics are used:

Eigenfactor Score (EF)

  • Total impact of a journal
  • The sum of Eigenfactor scores for all journals is 100

Article Influence Score (AI)

  • Average influence per article (comparable to Impact Factor)
  • AI = EF divided by the no. of citable items published
  • The score is then normalized so that the mean article in the entire JCR database has an an article influence of 1.00. A value above 1.0 indicates above average influence.

Normalized Eigenfactor (EFn) (introduced in 2014)

  • Derived from the traditional Eigenfactor Score and normalized against all the journals in JCR.
  • The average journal in JCR has a normalized Eigenfactor of 1.00. A value above 1.0 indicates above average influence.

Eigenfactor metrics are also available within JCR.

Google Scholar Metrics

http://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/metrics.html

  • Google Scholar's journal ranking system released in April 2012
  • Uses the h-index method of impact for publications and an h5 variation for 5 complete years (Refer to the "Impact of Authors" page for more about h-index)
  • Covers many articles published in the last 5 years that were indexed in Google Scholar
  • You can start with the Top 100 publications page

Other journal lists or journal rankings

Journals can also be evaluated based on assessment methods or inspection by experts. Below are some journal lists compiled by universities, professional organizations or research centers. Some are specific to a discipline.

European Reference Index for the Humanities (ERIH)

  • https://dbh.nsd.uib.no/publiseringskanaler/erih/searchForm
  • Compiled by European Science Foundation; Places journals in three ranks (2008 and 2011 lists) - INT1 (international with high visibility); INT2 (international with significant visibility); NAT (of significance in a particular country)
  • In 2014, the maintenance of ERIH was transferred to the Norwegian Social Science Data Services (NSD) and the index is called ERIH PLUS to include journals in the social sciences.
  • Starting fall 2015, all journals transferred from ERIH to ERIH PLUS will be revised against the ERIH PLUS criteria. To learn more, refer to this page: https://dbh.nsd.uib.no/publiseringskanaler/erihplus/index

Excellence in Australian Research (ERA)

 Master Journal List by Thomson Reuters

  • http://ip-science.thomsonreuters.com/mjl/
  • Maintained by Thomson Reuters to include core literature only
  • Less influential journals are removed and new quality journals are added to reflect the evolution of scholarly topics
  • Includes the list of Arts & Humanities Citation Index Source Publications which are not calculated in JCR

Harzing.com Journal Quality List

  • http://www.harzing.com/jql.htm
  • Compiled and edited by Dr. Anne-Wil Harzing
  • Covers the areas of economics, finance, accounting, management and marketing
  • Contains 20 different measures for more than 900 journals
  • "Publish and Perish", a free software for analyzing citations in Google Scholar, is available for download from this site