Researcher Compass

Here is a summary of the major indexes of open access journals and books known globally:

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ):
DOAJ is a comprehensive, community-driven index of open access journals from around the world. Established in 2003, it indexes and provides access to high-quality, peer-reviewed open access journals. DOAJ aims to increase the visibility, accessibility, and discoverability of scholarly research published in open access formats. It operates independently and relies on donations to maintain its services, which are free of charge.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB):
Established by the OAPEN Foundation in 2012, DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books. It helps users find trusted open access book publishers, and all DOAB services are free of charge with openly available data.

Korea Open Access Journals (KOAJ):
KOAJ (Korea Open Access Journals) is a Korean open access journal directory that aims to provide access to Korean and international open access journals. It includes journals in multiple subject areas and allows users to read and download articles for free. The platform aims to increase the visibility and dissemination of research results in Korea and beyond. KOAJ provides journal details such as publication frequency, impact factor, and submission guidelines to help researchers find suitable publication channels. It allows researchers to easily find academic journals and papers registered with Korean Journal Database (KCI).

China Open Access Journals (COAJ):
China Open Access Journals (COAJ) is a non-profit open access journal database that employs rigorous review mechanisms to ensure the quality of the included journals and articles. Its core objective is to include open access journals published in China, as well as international open access journals closely affiliated with Chinese research institutions and academic communities, covering various disciplines. It is dedicated to providing researchers and readers with openly shared, high-quality academic resources.

Taiwan Open Access Journals (TOAJ):
Supported by the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC), TOAJ is a platform for Chinese-language academic journals that conform to National Science and Technology Council (NSTC)’s goal of promoting open access. It provides readers with free article access and downloads fairly and openly and supports journal editing and collection for the needs of local academic editorial units.

Benefits of Using OA Indexes
Utilizing these indexes offers significant benefits for researchers and faculty members. Researchers can discover OA journal and book publishers on centralized platforms without geographical or financial barriers. Most indexes employ a rigorous evaluation process to ensure that indexed titles meet standards of quality and peer review, allowing researchers to find credible, high-quality, peer-reviewed journals and book publishers. Overall, these indexes play a crucial role in the academic community by promoting open access publishing and providing researchers with the tools they need to access and disseminate knowledge effectively.