Research Guides: MBA: MBA

Scope

In this Research Guide for MBA students we've listed some of the best Library resources to help you find information from:

journal articles
e-books and books
online videos
online tools, and more.

Guides

MBA - Library briefing (PPT slides)

Student Library Guide. Overview of available Library resources, services, and facilities
Using Google Scholar from off campus to access full text journal articles
Library's facilities booking system to book group study rooms, carrels, computers, and more.

Find articles, books, online videos, & more

Use CityU Library Find to search for the full text of journal articles, e-books, books, DVDs and more.

You can:

Limit your search results to e-books or to scholarly sources, e.g peer-reviewed journal articles.
Cite your sources in your preferred style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian)
Save your search results and searches for future viewing

CityU LibraryFind: Quick Search guide

Other business resources

Library databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains company & industry profiles, country reports, market research, & more.
Also available in CityU LibraryFind.

Harvard Business Review
Opinion and commentary on the latest business research. Also available in CityU LibraryFind.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
contains scholarly peer-reviewed articles, trade publications, patent records and quality web resources. It also has tools to track and analyse literature.

Company and financial data
Covers a range of databases that have information from public companies and more.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of newspapers and business sources from around the world including company reports and industry publications.
South China Morning Post This link opens in a new window
Full text of the South China Morning Post from 1998
WisersOne This link opens in a new window
News from over 1,000 newspapers and magazines published in mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, and other regions.

Other newspaper databases

You can search these Library resources at the same time in CityU LibraryFind, or you can search them individually.

Business Education in Videos This link opens in a new window
Features executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, How To features and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment..Subjects covered include Globalization, Management, Marketing, Finance, Entrepreneurship, International Business, Ethics, Cross-cultural Communication, Technology, & more.
HSTalks: The Business & Management Collection This link opens in a new window
Online video lectures and case studies from leading academics and experts in commerce and industry. Topics range from global business management to economics and finance. It’s updated regularly with the hottest topics in business.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Expert-taught top-quality instructional videos on more than 4,000 courses.

You can find case studies in the following Library databases:

Business Source Complete
Select Advanced Search. Limit your search to 'Case study' in the 'Publication Type' box.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Select Advanced Search and limit your search to "Case Study" in the "Document Type" box
Emerald E merging Markets Case Studies
Covers business decision making and management development in emerging economies e.g. Africa and Asia focusing on a range of companies.
Gartner
Case studies are available on latest use of IT covering a range of companies.
ScienceDirect
A fulltext collection of scholarly journals. Add 'case stud*' as one of your search terms.

Research guides, referencing & more

Research Guides for business
Has recommended sources for company information, entrepreneurship, management sciences, information systems, marketing, management, economics and finance, and accountancy, & other business topics.
Research Guides for research
These online guides include Beginning Your Research, Preventing plagiarism, Keeping current in your field, Literature reviews, & Research methods.
Citing sources of information
Shows you how to cite in APA style

How to cite your sources

The Citing Sources of Information Research Guide has examples of referencing in a variety of styles as well as examples of citations and links to relevant websites.

Citation generators

Use CityU LibraryFind to generate a citation. Look for the double quotation marks icon next to the title in your list of search results.

A number of programs are available on the web that will automatically format a citation into your preferred style. For example, Citation Machine.

Some Library databases can automatically generate a citation in a preferred style. Look for links such as Cite.

Note:. Always check automatically generated citations for accuracy.

Information Skills Workshops
Learn how to identify, locate, and use information resources effectively and ethically, and improve your awareness of current research resources, tools and strategies.

EndNote . A tool to help manage your references, cite your references in your preferred style and insert in-text citations.

BrowZine: A free app for android or iOS devices or download to your computer. Lets you browse your favorite journals.