Skip to main content

Finding Journal Articles

This guide tells you how to find journal articles and get the full text (whole document) of articles.

Find articles on a topic

CityU LibraryFind includes a centralized index that encompasses the records harvested from many Library-subscribed databases, and therefore provides information on individual articles published in most of the journals collected by the Library. To find articles on a topic, you can use the Books & Articles+ or Articles+ search scope in CityU LibraryFind. Enter your keyword(s) in the search box below to find articles in the Articles+ search scope.

 

 

After a search, further refine your results by resource type - Newspapers, Articles, Conference Proceedings, etc.

Article databases

Sometimes you may want to directly search the Library's article databases in order to use the sophisticated search features of individual databases.

In fact, content of specialist databases, such as legal information from law databases, company and financial data from some business databases, are not included in CityU LibraryFind. To find specialist content or to make use of the special search features of individual databases, access Library's databases.  

Below explains in details about how to:

Which database is best?

Select a database to search for articles on a topic

The Library has subscribed to hundreds of databases. To select a database that covers your area of research, from the Library homepage, select the "Databases" tab. Then click a letter for a list of databases starting with that letter. Or, if you have no idea which database to use, click "By subject/source type" for a list of subject categories and source type. You can also conduct a keyword search in the search box to identify databases covering your desired subject area. 

 

Tips for finding articles using databases

Different databases have different search interfaces. The tips below can be applied to most commonly used databases.

Tip 1: Use a form with multiple search boxes (sometimes called "Advanced Search" or "Form Search"), if possible

For example, this search form gives more search options to get accurate results

 Than this single search box

Tip 2: Identify the keywords or the main concepts of your research topic. Combine the search terms.

For example, for the topic Globalization of Chinese companies, the keywords are globalization, Chinese and companies.

Then, think of similar terms or phrases that might also be used to describe these concepts. Combine your search terms in a way that a database can understand by using AND and OR.

 For more search tips, refer to the Develop your search strategy guide.

Tip 3: Limit the search for more focused results

When necessary, in order to make the search more focused, limit the search by:

  • Specific search fields (e.g. journal titles, abstracts, subjects)
  • Document types (e.g. scholarly articles, conferences)
  • Year of publication, etc.

Get the full text of your desired articles in databases

When full text is available

If the article you want has a PDF or HTML full text link, this means the article is available in the database you are currently seaching. Simply click on the full text link to view the full text of the article

When full text is not available

If there is no full text link, click the "Check@CityULib" button to check whether full text is available from other Library databases via our link resolver. If full text is available from one or more Library databases, just click on the link from the link resolver page to access the full text.

 

Findit@CityU with Google Scholar

Findit@CityU with Google Scholar tells you whether your search results in Google Scholar are available within the Library's subscription. If yes, the "Findit@CityU" link will be displayed next to the search result. You can then access the full text of the resource.

This function is automatic if you use Google Scholar within campus. If you want to use it from off campus, you need to reset your Web browser. To learn more, refer to Findit@CityU in Google Scholar.

Google Scholar Search