Research Guides: News and Newspapers: Finding news articles on a topic

Finding news articles using CityU LibraryFind

Use CityU LibraryFind to find news articles on a topic:

Enter your keyword/s in the Articles+ search scope. Your search will be done across multiple platforms, including many Library news databases.
Then, refine your search results by Resource Type - Newspaper Articles.

Enter your search terms below to try it out! Your search results will be limited to Newspaper Articles.

Finding news articles using Library-subscribed databases

CityU LibraryFind provides a simple one-stop search platform, and pulls results from many databases. However, if you want to perform more specific searches, you can use individual news databases to better suit your needs.

Below are some suggested Library news databases for you to find articles from news sources and newspapers. Most of these databases provide access to full-text news articles.

Browsing vs. searching:

All news databases are searchable, but not all of them are browsable. Some databases, such as "ProQuest" & "EBSCOhost", allow browsing of the newspaper publications they hold, while some others, such as "WisersOne" only provide limited browsing capabilities (e.g. browsing of current issues of particular newspapers only).

Refer to the "news databases" page for more information about these databases.

WisersOne This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the news from over 1,000 newspapers and magazines published in mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, and other regions. Hong Kong newspapers covered in the database include: am730, 頭條日報, 信報財經新聞, 香港經濟日報, 香港商報, 明報, 東方日報, 成報, The Standard, 大公報, 文匯報.
-- To browse news on general/special topics or category news over a specified period of time (e.g. CityU news, HK news), click the desired options on the default front page.
-- To search a topic, click on the nine-dots icon (top left of screen). Select "WiseSearch".
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 14,000 news and business sources from 159 countries, 350 geographical regions and in 22 languages
-- To browse current newspapers, click on the "Home" tab at the top of the screen to view the "Newsstand". The default setting on this page is "Greater China" so 香港經濟日報, 明報, 信報, 星島日報 are available.
-- To browse back issues, go to the "Search" page. Enter the title of the publication in the Source field. When the publication name is displayed, click on the purple arrow to "Add the code to the Free Text above".
International Newsstream (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database provides recent news content from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers.
-- To browse a newspaper publication, select "Publications" at the top, search the desired title.
-- To search a topic, select "Advanced" at the top for a more user friendly interface.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of the world's major news content from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, television & radio news transcripts are provided.
-- To browse a newspaper publication, select "Publications" at the top left hand corner. Input the desired title in the search box under "Newspaper Source Plus -- Publications".
-- To search a topic, select "Advanced Search" for a more user-friendly interface.
中國重要報紙全文數據庫 China Core Newspapers Full-text Database (CNKI) This link opens in a new window
收錄2000年以來中國國內公開發行的500多種重要報紙刊載的學術性、資料性文獻。
圖書館現時提供下列專輯：
-- 哲學與人文科學
-- 政治軍事與法律
-- 教育與社會科學綜合
-- 經濟與管理科學
巨靈財經資訊系統 Genius Finance This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to about 140 Chinese newspapers and periodicals, covering many topics in economics and finance such as securities, futures, banking, insurance, foreign exchanges, economic theories, etc.
中國資訊行 INFOBANK This link opens in a new window
A web-based online service on China's news, business and legal information. It offers access to many full-text Chinese databases, including Business Briefing Database 環球商訊庫, China Economic News Database 中國經濟新聞庫 and English Publications (news archive of RealTime China)
中國經濟新聞庫 China Economic News Database (via INFOBANK) This link opens in a new window
Sourced from China's 600 leading newspapers and trading magazines, focusing on commercial and economic news, categorized by industries and regions
INFOBANK 環球商訊庫 Business Briefing Database This link opens in a new window
The archive of news from INFOBANK's newsflash service (即時播發之"環球商訊")

All News Databases
A list of news databases subscribed by the Library. Also provides links to access relevant search guides
All Library Databases
All databases subscribed to by the Library, arranged by subject

Why do we use Library-subscribed news databases when online newspapers are available?

Library-subscribed databases are available for CityU staff and students. These databases have the following advantages over the news on the Internet:

Access to full-text news articles:

Most Library-subscribed news databases provide access to full-text news articles. News on the Internet may or may not provide full-text access to news articles

Access to news archives:

Most Library-subscribed news databases provide access to older news articles. News on the Internet may provide access to news archives only by paid subscription or by "per article" purchase

More sophisticated search features:

More focused search can be done and searching can be performed across multiple newspaper publications

Equivalents of printed titles:
Most Library-subscribed electronic newspapers are the online version of their printed counterparts. This may not be the case for news on the Internet