The Library is having a special display of books that were written by the students of the Doctor of Juridical Science (Chinese Judges) (JSDCJ) program. The students enrolled in CityUHK School of Law's JSDCJ program are senior judges from Mainland China. The Chinese Senior Judges shared their legal insights and wisdom through this collection of publications. This impressive book display titled as 法律視野：中國高級法官法學博士學術成果展 (Legal Insights: Academic Achievements of Doctor of Juridical Science (Chinese Judges)), is a celebration and recognition of their academic achievements. The books are on display in the Library's New Books Display area (outside the Library Lounge) from now until the end of May 2025. You are welcome to come visit and borrow the books.
As the issue no. 70 was released in February 2025, it also marked the last issue of the Laws of Hong Kong loose-leaf edition. Thereafter, the loose-leaf edition ceased printing and was fully replaced by the Hong Kong e-Legislation (HKeL).
Before the launch of the Hong Kong e-Legislation (HKeL), the official version of the consolidated legislation was published in loose-leaf format, known as the loose-leaf edition of the Laws of Hong Kong. Since the HKeL was established in 2017, the Department of Justice has embarked on a years-long verification project. After a chapter has been verified and made available on HKeL, the chapter will be removed from the loose-leaf edition and replaced by a purple sheet. The purple sheet informed users that they could access the chapter on the HKeL website. The verification of all the current consolidated Hong Kong legislation published on HKeL has been completed in the first quarter of 2025. With that, the hard copy loose-leaf edition of the Laws of Hong Kong is fully phased out by HKeL.
You can still find the print volumes of the Laws of Hong Kong loose-leaf edition in the Library but they are updated only to February 2025. To look for the current consolidated legislation of Hong Kong, go to the Hong Kong e-Legislation (HKeL) (www.elegislation.gov.hk).
The Judiciary of HKSAR has launched its official LinkedIn page on 24 March 2025 with the aim to foster professional exchange and networking locally and beyond. On its official LinkedIn page, you can find regular updates from the Judiciary, including significant decisions from courts, major professional exchanges with other jurisdictions, key events, and important initiatives. Go to the Judiciary's LinkedIn page (https://www.linkedin.com/company/hk-judiciary) and follow it to stay informed of the latest updates and developments.
A warm welcome to our new and returning students! We can’t wait for you to join us in January 2025 as we welcome you to the Library with learning events and activities.
The Legal Research Workshops are great opportunities to develop your legal research skills. Students are strongly encouraged to take a refresher session to stay updated with the latest research techniques and tools. For those who are looking for more hands-on practice and practical tips, don’t miss out on the face-to-face session on Westlaw Asia & Westlaw Classic.
Please mark your calendars for the following dates and times:
Legal Research Workshops
Searching Key Law Databases
For more details and registration, please go to our webpage (https://www.cityu.edu.hk/lib/instruct/course/law.htm).
Best wishes for the new semester! May this semester bring you new insights and interesting discoveries!
The Library is delighted to announce that the Jus Mundi database is available on a short-term trial basis from now until 31 December 2024.
Jus Mundi provides access to a wealth of dispute resolution materials, covering an extensive range of content across key practice areas. It is an AI-powered platform that is equipped with user-friendly search features.
Trial access details
Period: now until December 31, 2024
Scope:
To access Jus Mundi, please go to the Library webpage of Electronic Resources on Trial: https://www.cityu.edu.hk/lib/eres/trial/list.htm. Remote access (outside campus) is available by authentication with CityUHK EID and password.
We encourage you to take advantage of this exceptional opportunity and explore the rich contents and functionalities of Jus Mundi.
In July 2024, the Hong Kong Judiciary published the Guidelines on the Use of Generative Artificial Intelligence for Judges, Judicial Officers, and Support Staff. The guidelines lay out the general rules and guiding principles for Judges, Judicial Officers, and support staff of the Judiciary on the use of generative AI tools in performing their duties.
The guiding principles are:
(A) No delegation of judicial functions
(B) Understand the limitations of Generative AI; check to ensure accuracy and accountability
(C) Maintain information security; uphold confidentiality and privacy
(D) Guard against infringement of copyright and intellectual property laws
(E) Be aware of bias
(F) Take responsibility
(G) Be aware of the use of Generative AI by court users
The document provided some potential uses of AI tools, such as summarizing information, speech/presentation writing, legal translation, and administrative tasks.
To read the full document, please visit the Judiciary website (https://www.judiciary.hk/en/home/index.html) or use this direct link: https://www.judiciary.hk/doc/en/court_services_facilities/guidelines_on_the_use_of_generative_ai.pdf.
We are pleased to announce that the Chinese Legal History Special Collection is now available for lending. This valuable collection, previously a closed collection, is now open, providing an exceptional opportunity to delve into the rich history of Chinese law.
The Chinese Legal History Special Collection
The Chinese Legal History Special Collection is a special collection of literature covering the ancient times to 1949, with a focus on the Qing Dynasty and the pre-1949 era. It includes historical judicial decisions, laws and regulations, and other related academic works. This Collection serves as a treasure trove for researchers, scholars, and anyone interested in exploring the evolution and development of Chinese law.
Browse and Borrow
To facilitate the use of this Collection, we have made it open to our users. You can now visit the Purple Zone of the library (Library Floor Plan) and browse the Collection. All eligible CityUHK users can check out books and materials for research and studies.
Users can search the Collection via CityUHK LibraryFind or refer to the Chinese Legal History Special Collection Catalogue. For more information, please refer to the library webpage.
We encourage you to explore the Chinese Legal History Special Collection. Whether you are a student pursuing a research project, a professor conducting scholarly work, or simply an individual with a passion for history, this collection offers invaluable insights into the legal heritage of China.
Looking for a meaningful and exciting summer? This programme is a great opportunity for career development and networking!
If you are...
Opportunities and Benefits
Key Dates
🎯 Join now! Submit your CV and cover letter by email to the address below no later than 31 May 2024 at 23:59.
For further information and enquiries, please send an email to: traininghk@lexisnexis.com.
From time to time, the Library provides trial access to resources that are not in our subscription. The E-Resources on Trial can be found on the library webpage https://www.cityu.edu.hk/lib/eres/trial/list.htm or via the following path: Library Homepage → E-Resources → Electronic Resources on Trial.
Currently, the China Law and Reference database is available on a short-term trial basis from now to 8 May 2024. China Law and Reference is Wolters Kluwer’s bilingual database that covers a comprehensive range of China’s legal materials, including legislation, treaties, cases, commentaries, and more. It also provides in-depth analysis that helps legal researchers and practitioners obtain well-informed opinions, keep abreast of current issues, and keep up with industry trends.
Please visit the library webpage https://www.cityu.edu.hk/lib/eres/trial/list.htm to try China Law and Reference and explore its contents. Please note that authentication with CityUHK EID and password is required. During the trial access period, both on-campus and off-campus access is available to eligible CityUHK users.
In tandem, there will be an online live demo on China Law and Reference on 25 Apr 2024 (Thu), at 4 pm. All CityUHK students and staff are welcome. Save your spot, register now!
Date: 25 Apr 2024 (Thu)
Time: 4:00 – 5:00 pm
Speaker: Yuxin Ren, Application Consultant, Wolters Kluwer
Language: English
Registration: https://astoria100.ad.cityu.edu.hk/lib_workshop/reg.aspx?session=11001
Format: Online via Microsoft Teams
The live demo session will cover the following topics:
Lexis+ Hong Kong is the new platform of Lexis Advance Hong Kong that comes with new functions such as Search Tree, Lexis Answer, and Case Recommendation.
Lexis+ can be accessed via the library webpage (available to eligible CityUHK users only): https://lbsystem.lib.cityu.edu.hk/ereslist/details.php......
Parallel access will be provided for one month until the end of March 2024; during this period, both Lexis+ Hong Kong and Lexis Advance Hong Kong are available. After that, Lexis Advance Hong Kong will be discontinued.
To help you get started with Lexis+:
Find more training materials at Lexis+ Support & Training webpage: https://www.lexisnexis.com/....../lexis-plus/default.page
Email us at lblaw@cityu.edu.hk or lbinf@cityu.edu.hk if you need more assistance with using Lexis+.
