Skip to Main Content

Open Access 2: APC Deals

CityUHK Open Access Publishing Agreements (APC Deals)

For OA publishing (Gold OA), authors are usually required to pay the Article Processing Charges (APCs), which are not small sums. The Library has negotiated a number of Read-and-Publish Agreements to secure APC waivers for our CityUHK authors. To enjoy the offers, please take note of the following:

  • There are conditions and requirements for the offers, please read the guidelines provided on this page carefully.
  • To enable the publishers/societies to assess your eligibility, please provide all the information required.
  • Some arrangements are offered at the discretion of the publishers/societies, they can be subject to changes. The publishers’/societies’ decisions at the time of your manuscript submission or publishing are final.

The CityUHK Read-and-Publish Agreement Journal Finder, developed by the Library, enables researchers to navigate journals included in CityUHK's Read-and-Publish Agreements (also called Transformative Agreements) to make informed decisions for manuscript submission based on metrics, ranking, indexing status in Scopus/Web of Science, and relevant subject areas. You can search for specific journal titles, or particular subject areas with this Journal Finder to locate the journals that are with Read-and-Publish Agreements through CityUHK.

 

 

 
APC Wavier or Discount 100% waiver
Agreement Period For articles accepted for publishing within 2024
Quota No limits
Journal Coverage Communications on Pure and Applied Analysis (CPAA)
Author Eligibility

Upon manuscript submission you must:

  1. Be the corresponding author
  2. List "City University of Hong Kong" as your affiliation
  3. Use CityU email domain for submission
User License Associated CC BY 4.0 license (Learn more about CC licenses)
How to apply

After article submission, AIMS will inform you that your article can be published OA for free in pursuant of the APC agreement. Please reply to AIMS notifying that you wish to publish your article as OA. 

Here is a sample message:

Being a member of City University of Hong Kong, I would like to publish open access free of charge in this journal "Communications on Pure and Applied Analysis" under the Open Subscription agreement between AIMS and my University.
More information AIMS Open Access
 

 

 
APC Wavier or Discount 100% waiver
Agreement Period For articles accepted for publishing within 2024 - 2026
Quota No limits
Journal Coverage

All journals with an OA option (i.e. Gold OA and Hybrid OA)
Author Eligibility

Upon manuscript submission you must:

  1. Be the corresponding author
  2. List "City University of Hong Kong" as your affiliation
  3. Use CityU email domain for submission
Type of Publication

Applicable to 5 article types (as defined by CUP):

  • Research Article
  • Review Article
  • Rapid Communications
  • Brief Report
  • Case Report
User License Associated CC Licenses (Learn more about CC licenses)
How to apply Step-by-Step Guide for Authors
More information Read and Publish agreement with JULAC - Hong Kong
 

 

 
APC Wavier or Discount 100% waiver
Agreement Period For articles accepted for publishing within 2023 - 2025
Quota No limits
Journal Coverage Development, Journal of Cell Science, Journal of Experimental Biology, Disease Models & Mechanism, Biology Open 
Author Eligibility

Upon manuscript submission you must:

  1. Be the corresponding author
  2. List "City University of Hong Kong" as your affiliation
  3. Use CityU email domain for submission
Type of Publication Original research paper relating to original research (Not including review papers, commentaries, correspondence, corrections, additions, posters, or any other content or materials) 
User License Associated CC BY License (Learn more about CC licenses)
How to apply Step-by-Step Guide for Authors
More information

The Company of Biologists journal titles

Journal Name Journal Impact Factor JIF Quartile Journal CiteScore
Development 3.7 Q1 in Developmental Biology 6.7
Journal of Cell Science 3.3 Q3 in Cell Biology 7.3
Journal of Experimental Biology 2.8 Q2 in Biology 5.5
Disease Models & Mechanisms (DMM) 4.0

Q2 in Cell Biology

Q1 in Pathology

 6.6
Biology Open (BiO) 1.8 Q3 in Biology 3.9

Last update: June 2024. Please refer to the publisher website for latest updates.
(Journal metrics of 2023) 

 

 

 
APC Wavier or Discount 100% waiver
Agreement Period 2024 - 2026
Quota No limits
Journal Coverage All IOP's hybrid and gold OA journals (i.e. journals on List A-D)
Author Eligibility

Upon manuscript submission, you must: 

  • Be the ONLY corresponding author
  • Be a current CityU staff member, researcher, or student at the time of article acceptance
  • List "City University of Hong Kong" as the affiliation
  • Use the CityU email domain for submission
Type of Publication Research paper, special issue, letter and review article types
User License Associated CC BY 4.0 (Learn more about CC licenses)
How to apply Step-by-Step Guide for Authors
More information Researchers from institutions within Hong Kong SAR
 

 

 
APC Wavier or Discount 100% waiver
Agreement Period For articles accepted for publishing within 2023 - 2025
Quota No limits
Journal Coverage Microbiology, Journal of General Virology, Journal of Medical Microbiology, Microbial Genomics, International Journal of Systemic and Evolutionary Microbiology, Access Microbiology
Author Eligibility

Upon manuscript submission, you must

  • Be the corresponding author
  • List "City University of Hong Kong" as your affiliation
  • Using CityU email for editorial manager registration
  • Use the CityU email domain for paper submission
  • Be affiliated with CityU at the date of acceptance for publication.
User License Associated CC BY License (Learn more about CC licenses)
How to apply Step-by-Step Guide for Authors
More information

Microbiology Society journal titles

Journal Name Journal Impact Factor JIF Quartile Journal CiteScore
Access Microbiology*  -- -- --
International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology 2.0 Q4 in Microbiology 5.2
Journal of General Virology 3.6

Q2 in Biotechnology & Applied Microbiology

Q2 in Virology

 7.7
Journal of Medical Microbiology 2.4 Q3 in Microbiology 5.5
Microbial Genomics 4.0

Q1 in Genetics & Heredity

Q2 in Microbiology

 6.6
Microbiology 2.6 Q3 in Microbiology 4.6

* Launched in 2019, Access Microbiology is an open research platform that supports the publication of replication studies, negative or null results, research proposals, data management plans, additions to established methods, case reports, software development, educational and outreach methods, and interdisciplinary work.

Last update: June 2024. Please refer to the publisher website for latest updates.
(Journal metrics of 2023)

 

 

 
APC Wavier or Discount 100% waiver
(15% waiver is available after the quota is used up)
Agreement Period For articles accepted for publishing within 2024
Quota

13 articles on first-come-first-served basis.

*Note: As of July 2024, all 13 quotas have been utilized. CityU authors wishing to publish OA with RSC can enjoy a 15% discount on APC through the end of 2024. For details, please contact the publisher directly.
Journal Coverage Hybrid journals published by RSC (link) 
[except RSC gold open access journals and Chemistry Education Research and Practice (CERP)]
Eligibility

Upon manuscript submission you must:

  1. Be the primary corresponding author as designated in the RSC article submission system
  2. List "City University of Hong Kong" as your affiliation
  3. Use CityU email domain for submission
User License Associated CC Licenses (Learn more about CC licenses)
How to apply Step-by-Step Guide for Authors
More information
CityU authors can publish high energy physics related articles in SCOAP3 (Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics) journals for free as CityU is a member of JULAC (Joint University Librarians Advisory Committee), which is in partnership with SCOAP3. Please refer to the following list of journals for details.

SCOAP3 journal titles

Journal Name Publisher Journal Impact Factor JIF Quartile Journal CiteScore Eligibility for SCOAP3 Funding Related Links
The European Physical Journal C (EPJC)  Springer 4.2 Q2 in Physics, Particles & Fields 8.1 All articles will be published free of charge. APCs are completely covered by SCOAP3 Link
The Journal of High Energy Physics (JHEP)  Springer & SISSA-Trieste Italy 5.0 Q1 in Physics, Particles & Fields 10.0 Link
Nuclear Physics B (NPB) Elsevier 2.5 Q2 in Physics, Particles & Fields 5.5 Link
Physics Letters B (PLB) Elsevier 4.3

Q1 in Astronomy & Astrophysics

Q1 in Physics, Nuclear

Q1 in Physics, Particles & Fields

 9.1 Link
Physical Review C (PRC)  APS Physics 3.2 Q2 in Physics, Nuclear 5.8 Only High-Energy Physics (HEP) articles that are submitted by their authors to arXiv.org (the preprint server) with a primary category in high-energy physics (i.e. hep-ex, hep-lat, hep-ph, or hep-th) will be published free of charge and have the APCs covered by SCOAP3 Link
Physical Review D (PRD) APS Physics 4.6

Q1 in Astronomy & Astrophysics

Q1 in Physics, Particles & Fields

 9.3
Physical Review Letters (PRL)  APS Physics 8.1 Q1 in Physics, Multidisciplinary 16.5
Advances in High Energy Physics (AHEP)  Hindawi 1.5 Q3 in Physics, Particles & Fields 3.4 Link
Chinese Physics C (CPC)  IOP Publishing 3.6

Q1 in Physics, Nuclear

Q2 in Physics, Particles & Fields

 6.5 Link
Progress of Theoretical and Experimental Physics (PTEP) Oxford and JPS

8.3

(Journal metrics of 2022)

Q1 in Physics, Multidisciplinary

Q1 in Physics, Particles & Fields

(Journal metrics of 2022)

 12.0 Link
Acta Physica Polonica B (APPB) Jagiellonian University in cooperation with the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences 0.9 Q3 in Physics, Multidisciplinary 1.7 Link

Last update: June 2024. Please refer to the publisher website for latest updates.
(Journal metrics of 2023) 

 

 

 
APC Wavier or Discount 100% waiver
Agreement Period 2024 - 2026
Quota Number of eligible articles:
  • 122 (Year 2024)
  • 124 (Year 2025)
  • 126 (Year 2026)
on first-come-first-served basis.
Journal Coverage Hybrid journals published by Springer (Title list: Link)
Author Eligibility

Upon manuscript submission, you must: 

  • Be the corresponding author
  • List "City University of Hong Kong" as the affiliation
  • Use the CityU email domain for submission
Type of Publication Original Paper, Review Paper, Brief Communication, Continuing Education 
User License Associated CC BY 4.0 / CC BY-NC 4.0 (Learn more about CC licenses)
How to apply Step-by-Step Guide for Authors
More information
 

 

 
APC Wavier or Discount 100% waiver
Agreement Period For papers accepted for publication in an eligible hybrid (subscription) journal, or submitted to a fully open access journal on or after 1 January 2024.
Quota

Number of eligible articles:

  • 160 (Year 2024) (all used up)
  • 161 (Year 2025)

on first-come-first-served basis.

CityUHK authors have used up all article quotas under the CityUHK-Wiley Read-and-Publish Agreement for the year 2024. The free open access quota under the Agreement is unavailable at the moment. Quota allocation will resume on January 1, 2025.
Journal Coverage

[Click the above hyperlinks to access the journal list]
Author Eligibility

Upon manuscript submission, you must: 

  • Be the responsible corresponding author
  • List "City University of Hong Kong" as the affiliation
  • Use the CityU email domain for submission
Type of Publication

Primary research or a review article, including but not limited to original articles, case studies, reviews, short communications, and other content types*

*For the definition of "other content types", please refer to this list
User License Associated CC licenses (Learn more about CC licenses)
How to apply
More information Open access agreement for authors at eligible JULAC institutions in Hong Kong 

Information was provided by the vendor and compiled in Jan 2024. Please refer to the publisher website for latest updates.

The quota for each Read-and-Publish Agreement listed above represents the total allocation for the corresponding year and will be used up over time. The availability of the APC waiver for a submitted manuscript depends on the remaining quota balance at the time of request submission. The Library cannot guarantee that APC waivers will be available for all submitted articles.

Beside Read-and-Publish Agreements, the Library has also secured APC discounts with several other publishers. Details are provided below:

 Publishers with APC discount

© City University of Hong Kong | Copyright | Disclaimer