Researcher Webinar Series: Home

(To view the video, click the above image and login with your CityU credential)

(To view the video, click the above image and login with your CityU credential)

Open Access (OA) is now a trend in the scholarly communication world and also a requirement from many research funding agencies such as the Research Grants Council in Hong Kong. The Library’s research support librarian will introduce the different fundamentals about OA to the participants. 

Topics to be covered:

• Background and meaning of Open Access (OA)
• Different ways to achieving OA,
• How CityU Scholars can support OA
• RGC’s OA requirements for funding application and reporting

Springer Nature Group (also known under its brands such as Springer, BMC, Nature Portfolio, Palgrave Macmillan, etc.) publishes more than 2,000 journal titles, including nearly 600 fully open access journals in all disciplines. The speaker will walk you through the path of open access in Springer Nature and answer your questions along the way.  

Topics to be covered: 

• OA publishing in Springer Nature
• Self-Archiving policy of Springer Nature
• How to find OA journals/content in Springer Nature site
• Research data policies of Springer Nature Journals 

(To view the video, click the above image and login with your CityU credential)

(To view the video, click the above image and login with your CityU credential)

Elsevier is also known by its imprints such as Academic Press, Cell Press, Pergamon Press, Butterworth-Heinemann, etc. The speaker from Elsevier will provide insights on how an inclusive, collaborative and transparent world of research can be achieved through open access and open data. 

Topics to be covered:

• Open access in Elsevier
• Open data and transparent reporting
• Open metrics and research evaluation
• Inclusion and equity in publishing & access. 

City University of Hong Kong is participating in the Wiley-CityU Read-and-Publish Agreement for the first time in 2024, and this webinar is open to all City University of Hong Kong researchers interested in publishing open access in Wiley journals at no cost under the university’s agreement. Highlights from the webinar include:

Open access publishing:

• The benefits of open access publishing
• Specifications of Wiley and JULAC’s transformational agreement and what these mean for authors
• Wiley Author Services workflows for researchers when submitting open access Article Publication Charge (APC) coverage requests to the City University of Hong Kong as part of the agreement

Tips for successful publishing:

• Preparing your manuscript, selecting a journal and submitting a paper
• What the peer review and production processes entail
• Author resources we offer for support through the publication process
• Publication ethics

(To view the video, click the above image and login with your CityU credential)

This webinar is open to all researchers of the City University of Hong Kong, which is participating in the Cambridge University Press (CUP)-CityU Read-and-Publish Agreement from 2024 onwards. The agreement allows the university’s researchers to publish open access in CUP journals at no cost. This webinar will walk participants through the workflows required when publishing open access articles under the Agreement.

Topics to be covered:

• Publish Open Access with Cambridge – including open access types, OA in CUP and advantages of OA
• Peer review and Author journey – the process from writing to publication
• How to promote your work – how to promote the article after the paper have been published

(New!) Unleashing Research Impact with Altmetric Explorer, Overton, and Lens.org

(To view the video, click the above image and login with your CityU credential)

Session 1: Telling your research impact stories with Altmetric Explorer

Explore Altmetric Explorer and uncover the online attention and engagement your research receives. Get insights into the social media bizz, news coverage, policy mentions, and more that shape the broader impact of your work.

Session 2: Uncovering your research impact via Overton and Lens.org

Make use of Overton to keep track of how your research publications have been referenced by policy documents and uses it to create research with impact.

Navigate the vast landscape of patents with Lens.org to discover how other patents have cited your patents to create technological applications.
 

Overton is a searchable policy database that indexes millions of policy documents, guidelines, publications and working papers from national, regional and city governments, think tanks, policy-focused NGOs and IGOs, etc. all over the world. By tracking the citations and mentions of scholarly publications in policy documents, Overton is also an analytics tool that helps researchers (i) understand the reach and influence of their work in the policy space, (ii) identify potential funding and collaboration opportunities from the citing policy sources, and (iii) collect evidence to support research impact evaluation, grant reporting, professional advancement, and more.

While funders are requiring demonstrable evidence to assess how their grants have translated into benefits and impact beyond academia (e.g. UGC’s RAE 2026), Overton will help researchers track and demonstrate their policy impact.

Topics to be covered:

• Impact in Research Assessment Exercise (RAE)
• Overton's data sources and coverage
• Creating search queries to track and analyze the policy impact of individuals and scholarly articles
• Library’s user support on Overton

(To view the video, click the above image and login with your CityU credential)

(To view the video, click the above image and login with your CityU credential)

InCites provides comprehensive research analytics using responsible indicators such as Category Normalized Citation Impact (CNCI), Percentile in Subject Area, and Journal Impact Factor (JIF). With InCites, you can access and analyze global data on publications, citations, authors, and collaborations. You can also discover insights and trends that can help you improve your research performance and impact.

InCites uses data from Web of Science, one of the world's leading curated abstract and citation databases, as well as the source for the reputable Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU).

Topics to be covered:

• InCites Value: Trusted Data
• Use Responsible Indicators to Evaluate Research Impact
• InCites Use Cases: Applications and Benefits
• Quick View: Using InCites at CityU

SciVal is a web-based data analytics tool that offers insights into the research performance of institutions, researchers, and publications. It provides responsible indicators such as Field-Weighted Citation Impact (FWCI), Outputs in Top Citation Percentiles, and CiteScore. With its comprehensive and customizable analytics, visualizations, and benchmarking features, SciVal facilitates researchers to evaluate research productivity and impact, identify emerging research topics, locate international collaborators, and keep track of SDG publications.

SciVal uses data from Scopus, one of the world's largest curated abstract and citation databases, as well as the source for the reputable university rankings such as Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) and Times Higher Education (THE).

Topics to be covered: 

• What is SciVal?
• Main Metrics in SciVal
• SciVal's Structure
• Demo with Scenarios

(To view the video, click the above image and login with your CityU credential)

(To view the video, click the above image and login with your CityU credential)

CityU Scholars is the University’s Integrated Research Information System for faculty members and research students to showcase their research output and achievement to the global audience through the public researcher profiles. Records collected in CityU Scholars will also be used by the University for reporting and appraisal purposes. The speaker will focus on researcher profile and content management in CityU Scholars.

• An overview of CityU Scholars’ Portal (public view) and Backend (EID login required)
• Constructing your public Researcher Profile
• Different types of records in CityU Scholars and how they are collected
• Integrating your ORCID with CityU Scholars for auto-synchronization of publication records
• Creating public and private CVs using CityU Scholars

CityU Scholars is the University’s Integrated Research Information System for faculty members and research students to showcase their research output and achievement to the global audience through the public researcher profiles. Records collected in CityU Scholars will also be used by the University for reporting and appraisal purposes. The speaker will focus on researcher profile and content management in CityU Scholars.

• Partnering with the Library to harvest your old and new publications
• Manual input of research output records under the appropriate RGC categories
• Getting help from trusted users/departmental administrators
• Submission of electronic theses (for supervisors and research students)
• Record synchronization to Research Degree Planner (for research students)