OA Sites and Tools
Reference Sites
 |
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ has a strict set of listing criteria to prevent predatory journals. |
 |
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB): DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available. |
 |
Think.Check.Submit: an international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.
|
 |
SHERPA-RoMEO presents a summary of permissions normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement. |
 |
SHERPA-FACT is a tool to help researchers check if journals comply with their funder's requirements for Open Access to research. |
 |
OpenDOAR: OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held. |
 |
Creative Commons: CC license official site with license details. |
 |
The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC): works to enable the open sharing of research outputs and educational materials in order to democratize access to knowledge, accelerate discovery, and increase the return on our investment in research and education. |
Useful Tools
 |
Unpaywall plugin: A browser extension for Firefox and Chrome, adds a green tab beside research articles that you can read for free. |
 |
Open Access Button: A site that searches across the web for a freely accessible full-text version of an article. Chrome browser extension is available. |
 |
EndNote Click: A free web-browser plug-in to find the “Best Available Full-text PDF” of an article. |
