With HKALL you can access the book collections of all University Grants Committee (UGC) funded libraries.
When would I want to use HKALL?
You can find your desired title in the HKALL search scope by either of the following ways:
and conduct your search.Then, find a book you need from the search results and click on the title. Select the option Get it. If there is an available copy, click on HKALL – Resource Sharing. ** You need to sign in(see above) to see request options and to place a request.
Use our CityU LibraryFind to find books, audiovisual materials, dissertations, journal titles, articles and more, collected by the Library.
The default scope is Books, Media & Articles+. You may select other scopes, such as Books & Media+ and Articles+, to suit your needs. To get started with CityU LibraryFind, refer to the Getting Started Tips.
On the result page, you can narrow the search results by Availability, Resource Type, or other options under Refine My Results (on the right side of screen).
Refer to this short video for more.
You may select handbooks from the following lists to find background information and quick facts.
Handbooks provide specific information or instructions about a topic. These are the selected Data Science handbooks:
The Handbook of Data Science and AI: Generate Value from Data with Machine Learning and Data Analytics by 
Bad Data Handbook by
What is bad data? Some people consider it a technical phenomenon, like missing values or malformed records, but bad data includes a lot more. In this handbook, data expert Q. Ethan McCallum has gathered 19 colleagues from every corner of the data arena to reveal how they've recovered from nasty data problems. From cranky storage to poor representation to misguided policy, there are many paths to bad data. Bottom line? Bad data is data that gets in the way. This book explains effective ways to get around it. Among the many topics covered, you'll discover how to: Test drive your data to see if it's ready for analysis Work spreadsheet data into a usable form Handle encoding problems that lurk in text data Develop a successful web-scraping effort Use NLP tools to reveal the real sentiment of online reviews Address cloud computing issues that can impact your analysis effort Avoid policies that create data analysis roadblocks Take a systematic approach to data quality analysis
The Data Science Handbook by
A comprehensive overview of data science covering the analytics, programming, and business skills necessary to master the discipline Finding a good data scientist has been likened to hunting for a unicorn: the required combination of technical skills is simply very hard to find in one person. In addition, good data science is not just rote application of trainable skill sets; it requires the ability to think flexibly about all these areas and understand the connections between them. This book provides a crash course in data science, combining all the necessary skills into a unified discipline. Unlike many analytics books, computer science and software engineering are given extensive coverage since they play such a central role in the daily work of a data scientist. The author also describes classic machine learning algorithms, from their mathematical foundations to real-world applications. Visualization tools are reviewed, and their central importance in data science is highlighted. Classical statistics is addressed to help readers think critically about the interpretation of data and its common pitfalls. The clear communication of technical results, which is perhaps the most undertrained of data science skills, is given its own chapter, and all topics are explained in the context of solving real-world data problems. The book also features: * Extensive sample code and tutorials using Python(tm) along with its technical libraries * Core technologies of "Big Data," including their strengths and limitations and how they can be used to solve real-world problems * Coverage of the practical realities of the tools, keeping theory to a minimum; however, when theory is presented, it is done in an intuitive way to encourage critical thinking and creativity * A wide variety of case studies from industry * Practical advice on the realities of being a data scientist today, including the overall workflow, where time is spent, the types of datasets worked on, and the skill sets needed The Data Science Handbook is an ideal resource for data analysis methodology and big data software tools. The book is appropriate for people who want to practice data science, but lack the required skill sets. This includes software professionals who need to better understand analytics and statisticians who need to understand software. Modern data science is a unified discipline, and it is presented as such. This book is also an appropriate reference for researchers and entry-level graduate students who need to learn real-world analytics and expand their skill set. FIELD CADY is the data scientist at the Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence, where he develops tools that use machine learning to mine scientific literature. He has also worked at Google and several Big Data startups. He has a BS in physics and math from Stanford University, and an MS in computer science from Carnegie Mellon.
The Decision Maker's Handbook to Data Science by
Data science is expanding across industries at a rapid pace, and the companies first to adopt best practices will gain a significant advantage. To reap the benefits, decision makers need to have a confident understanding of data science and its application in their organization. It is easy for novices to the subject to feel paralyzed by intimidating buzzwords, but what many don't realize is that data science is in fact quite multidisciplinary--useful in the hands of business analysts, communications strategists, designers, and more. With the second edition of The Decision Maker's Handbook to Data Science, you will learn how to think like a veteran data scientist and approach solutions to business problems in an entirely new way. Author Stylianos Kampakis provides you with the expertise and tools required to develop a solid data strategy that is continuously effective. Ethics and legal issues surrounding data collection and algorithmic bias are some common pitfalls that Kampakis helps you avoid, while guiding you on the path to build a thriving data science culture at your organization. This updated and revised second edition, includes plenty of case studies, tools for project assessment, and expanded content for hiring and managing data scientists Data science is a language that everyone at a modern company should understand across departments. Friction in communication arises most often when management does not connect with what a data scientist is doing or how impactful data collection and storage can be for their organization. The Decision Maker's Handbook to Data Science bridges this gap and readies you for both the present and future of your workplace in this engaging, comprehensive guide. What You Will Learn Understand how data science can be used within your business. Recognize the differences between AI, machine learning, and statistics. Become skilled at thinking like a data scientist, without being one. Discover how to hire and manage data scientists. Comprehend how to build the right environment in order to make your organization data-driven. Who This Book Is For Startup founders, product managers, higher level managers, and any other non-technical decision makers who are thinking to implement data science in their organization and hire data scientists. A secondary audience includes people looking for a soft introduction into the subject of data science.
Handbook of Big Data Analytics by
Addressing a broad range of big data analytics in cross-disciplinary applications, this essential handbook focuses on the statistical prospects offered by recent developments in this field. To do so, it covers statistical methods for high-dimensional problems, algorithmic designs, computation tools, analysis flows and the software-hardware co-designs that are needed to support insightful discoveries from big data. The book is primarily intended for statisticians, computer experts, engineers and application developers interested in using big data analytics with statistics. Readers should have a solid background in statistics and computer science.
Handbook of Research on Cloud and Fog Computing Infrastructures for Data Science by
Fog computing is quickly increasing its applications and uses to the next level. As it continues to grow, different types of virtualization technologies can thrust this branch of computing further into mainstream use. The Handbook of Research on Cloud and Fog Computing Infrastructures for Data Science is a key reference volume on the latest research on the role of next-generation systems and devices that are capable of self-learning and how those devices will impact society. Featuring wide-ranging coverage across a variety of relevant views and themes such as cognitive analytics, data mining algorithms, and the internet of things, this publication is ideally designed for programmers, IT professionals, students, researchers, and engineers looking for innovative research on software-defined cloud infrastructures and domain-specific analytics.
Python Data Science Handbook by
For many researchers, Python is a first-class tool mainly because of its libraries for storing, manipulating, and gaining insight from data. Several resources exist for individual pieces of this data science stack, but only with the Python Data Science Handbook do you get them all--IPython, NumPy, Pandas, Matplotlib, Scikit-Learn, and other related tools. Working scientists and data crunchers familiar with reading and writing Python code will find this comprehensive desk reference ideal for tackling day-to-day issues: manipulating, transforming, and cleaning data; visualizing different types of data; and using data to build statistical or machine learning models. Quite simply, this is the must-have reference for scientific computing in Python. With this handbook, you'll learn how to use: IPython and Jupyter: provide computational environments for data scientists using Python NumPy: includes the ndarray for efficient storage and manipulation of dense data arrays in Python Pandas: features the DataFrame for efficient storage and manipulation of labeled/columnar data in Python Matplotlib: includes capabilities for a flexible range of data visualizations in Python Scikit-Learn: for efficient and clean Python implementations of the most important and established machine learning algorithms
R Data Science Quick Reference : A Pocket Guide to APIs, Libraries, and Packages by
In this handy, practical book you will cover each concept concisely, with many illustrative examples. You'll be introduced to several R data science packages, with examples of how to use each of them. In this book, you'll learn about the following APIs and packages that deal specifically with data science applications: readr, tibble, forcates, lubridate, stringr, tidyr, magnittr, dplyr, purrr, ggplot2, modelr, broom, knitr, shiny, and more. After using this handy quick reference guide, you'll have the code, APIs, and insights to write data science-based applications in the R programming language. You'll also be able to carry out data analysis. You will: Get started with RMarkdown and notebooks Import data with readr Work with categories using forcats, time and dates with lubridate, and strings with stringr Format data using tidyr and then transform that data using magrittr and dplyr Write functions with R for data science, data mining, and analytics-based applications Visualize data with ggplot 2 and data fit for models using modelr and broom Report results with markdown, knitr, shiny, and more.
Research Handbook in Data Science and Law by
The generation and use of data in society has seen exponential growth in recent years. The emergent field of data science, concerned with understanding and analyzing this data, can be applied to applications spanning from healthcare and urban planning to smart household devices. The legal questions which accompany the rise of these technologies, however, remains underexplored. Breaking new ground this Research Handbook maps the legal implications of the emergence of data science.Drawing on comparative perspectives, this Research Handbook approaches the subject from different legal domains, considering the possibilities and limitations of the current legal framework. Reflecting on whether further regulation is needed to address the ethical and legal problems raised by data science, the contributors examine how the practice is, and should be, regulated and how it influences the law, judiciary, and legal research. The book makes a vital contribution to the emerging field of data science and law as a discipline, and covers data science methodologies and tools essential for both legal practice and scholarship.The Research Handbook in Data Science and Law will be an important resource for students interested in data and technology law, as well as for legal scholars and practitioners in the field. Data scientists seeking an introduction to the law surrounding the field will also find this Research Handbook invaluable.
Subject Headings are words, or combinations of words, that are selected to describe the main content of a book, DVD, or other items.
The following selected Subject Headings describe different topics in the field of Data Science. The list is not comprehensive so other Subject Headings may also be applicable to your topic. You can use the headings to find books and more in CityU LibraryFind.
Tip. Often you will retrieve a large number of results in CityU LibraryFind. You can select from the options under Refine My Results (on right side of screen) to narrow your results.
Suggested subject areas related to data science:
Want to browse the shelves? QA is the general call number for Data Science.
