Research Guides: Data Science: Databases &amp; Journals

Finding Articles from Library-Subscribed Databases

Using the Library Databases to find articles, reports and statistics from popular and scholarly journals, newspapers, conference papers and other sources.

Tip. Make sure you develop your search strategy before you start searching.

Not sure about how to find journal articles and get the full text (whole document) of articles? Read this guide Finding Journal Articles.

Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, magazines and newspapers in a wide range of general reference subjects including sciences
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
offers most articles from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journals, magazines and conference proceedings from 1991 onwards.
Book Citation Index - Science This link opens in a new window
As a part of Web of Science Core Collection, Book Citation Index allows users to search seamlessly across books, journals and conference proceedings to find the information most relevant to their work within one platform.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
covers the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in all scientific and technical fields, including Computer Science, Engineering.
EIU Country Data This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide economic indicators and forecasts from 2009. Data can be downloaded in Excel format. Major data categories include economic structure, foreign payments, external debt stock, external debt service, external trade, trends in foreign trade, quarterly indicators.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of newspapers and business sources from around the world including company reports and industry publications.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Provides research and advice about information technology for decision-makers to meet the specific needs of students, faculty and staff as well as technology professionals within the higher education arena.
CityU's subscription provides full access to:
- All reports under the TOPICS column.
- Industry reports for Education, Government, and Healthcare Providers under the INDUSTRIES column.
The Library's subscription does not cover the reports under the MARKETS column.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
provides access to the full text articles published since 1988 in journals, conference proceedings, and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE).
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Expert-taught top-quality instructional videos on more than 4,000 courses.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more on all business disciplines.
Science Citation Index Expanded (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines, providing access to bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts and cited references of articles published from 1970 onward.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
it contains numerous scholarly full-text journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
contains scholarly peer-reviewed articles, trade publications, patent records and quality web resources. It also has tools to track and analyse literature.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary journal collection of over 300 titles spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, science and technology. The journal titles are from some of the world’s leading publishers of scholarly journals.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Consists of three ISI citation indexes, providing access to peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers and patents. It also provides citation and impact factor information.
學術期刊庫 China Academic Journal Network Publishing Database (CNKI) This link opens in a new window
收錄在中國大陸出版的中、英文核心期刊和專業期刊。
搜數網 Soshoo This link opens in a new window
Contains industrial statistics. Search by industry keywords or browse by industry or region.

Selected Data Science Journal Titles

Artificial Intelligence Review Artificial Intelligence Review serves as a forum for the work of researchers and application developers from Artificial Intelligence, Cognitive Science and related disciplines. The Review publishes state-of-the-art research reports and critical evaluations of applications, techniques and algorithms from these fields. Artificial Intelligence Review also presents refereed survey and tutorial articles, as well as reviews and commentary on significant developments from these disciplines.
Publication Date: 1986 -
Big Data Research The journal aims to promote and communicate advances in big data research by providing a fast and high quality forum for researchers, practitioners and policy makers from the very many different communities working on, and with, this topic.
Publication Date: 2014 -
Computational Statistics & Data Analysis Computational Statistics and Data Analysis (CSDA), an Official Publication of the network Computational and Methodological Statistics (CMStatistics) and of the International Association for Statistical Computing (IASC), is an international journal dedicated to the dissemination of methodological research and applications in the areas of computational statistics and data analysis.
Publication Date: 1983 -
Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery is a resource collecting relevant common methods and techniques and a forum for unifying the diverse constituent research communities. It publishes original technical papers in both the research and practice of data mining and knowledge discovery, surveys and tutorials of important areas and techniques, and detailed descriptions of significant applications.
Publication Date: 1997 -
Data Science Journal The CODATA Data Science Journal is a peer-reviewed, open access, electronic journal, publishing papers on the management, dissemination, use and reuse of research data and databases across all research domains, including science, technology, the humanities and the arts. The scope of the journal includes descriptions of data systems, their implementations and their publication, applications, infrastructures, software, legal, reproducibility and transparency issues, the availability and usability of complex datasets, and with a particular focus on the principles, policies and practices for open data.
Publication Date: 2002 -
Data Technologies and Applications Data Technologies & Applications focusses on the management of digital information, mostly covering Information Science and Information System aspects. Covers all aspects of the data revolution brought about by the Internet and the World-Wide-Web.
Publication Date: 2006 -
EPJ Data Science EPJ Data Science covers a broad range of research areas and applications and particularly encourages contributions from techno-socio-economic systems, where it comprises those research lines that now regard the digital “tracks” of human beings as first-order objects for scientific investigation. Topics include, but are not limited to, human behavior, social interaction (including animal societies), economic and financial systems, management and business networks, socio-technical infrastructure, health and environmental systems, the science of science, as well as general risk and crisis scenario forecasting up to and including policy advice.
Publication Date: 2012 -
Journal of Artificial Intelligence and Soft Computing Research This is a dynamically developing international journal focused on the latest scientific results and methods constituting traditional artificial intelligence methods and soft computing techniques. The goal is to bring together scientists representing both approaches and various research communities.
Publication Date: 2013 -
Journal of Big Data Journal of Big Data publishes high-quality, scholarly research papers, methodologies and case studies covering a broad range of topics, from big data analytics to data-intensive computing and all applications of big data research.
Publication Date: 2014 -
Journal of Data and Information Science JDIS devotes itself to the study and application of the theories, methods, techniques, services, infrastructural facilities using big data to support knowledge discovery for decision & policy making. The basic emphasis is big data-based, analytics centered, knowledge discovery driven, and decision making supporting.
Publication Date: 2016 -
Journal of Data Science An official journal of center for applied statistics, school of statistics, Renmin University of China.
Publication Date: 2002 -
Journal of Machine Learning Research The Journal of Machine Learning Research (JMLR) provides an international forum for the electronic and paper publication of high-quality scholarly articles in all areas of machine learning.
Publication Date: 2000 -
Lifetime Data Analysis This journal dedicated to statistical methods and applications for lifetime data. It advances and promotes statistical science in various applied fields that deal with lifetime data, including actuarial science, economics, engineering, environmental sciences, management, medicine, operations research, public health, and social and behavioral sciences.
Publication Date: 1995 -
Machine Learning Machine Learning is an international forum for research on computational approaches to learning. The journal publishes articles reporting substantive research results on a wide range of learning methods applied to a variety of task domains.
Publication Date: 1986 -
Scientific Data Scientific Data, a peer-reviewed, online-only, open-access publication, publishes datasets that might not normally get into the open and increases the discoverability and reusability of datasets. Data Descriptors, the primary article type, describe previously unpublished datasets and expand on previous publications.
Publication Date: 2014 -
Statistical Analysis and Data Mining Statistical Analysis and Data Mining addresses the broad area of data analysis, including statistical approaches, machine learning, data mining, and applications. Topics include statistical and computational approaches for analyzing massive and complex datasets, novel statistical and/or machine learning methods and theory, and state-of-the-art applications with high impact.
Publication Date: 2008 -

You can also search all e-journal titles available from the Library!

Identifying journals with high impact

There are various tools that you can use to identify journals with high impact within a specific subject field:

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings.

Try the below subject categories:

Computer Science, Artificial Intelligence
Computer Science, Information Systems
Computer Science, Interdisciplinary Applications
Mathematical and Computational Biology
Social Sciences, Mathematical Methods
etc.

Eigenfactor.org
- Free

Using the same dataset as "Journal Citation Reports" (JCR), the Eigenfactor metrics try to overcome some problems inherent to the JCR Impact Factor:

Citation data are gathered for 5 years
Self-citations are removed
Quality of the citing journals is considered
Differences in citation patterns among disciplines are adjusted

SCImago Journal Rankings This link opens in a new window

Subject Area: Computer Science

Contains SJR values derived from the citation data in the Scopus Database
Journal list can be generated for a subject category. High impact journals indexed in Scopus can be identified by sorting journals' SJR
Also contains country ranking data

If you wish to know more about research impact, please visit the guide Measuring Research Impact.

You may also be interested to know how to maximise the visibility of your research.

Findit@CityU with Google Scholar

Findit@CityU with Google Scholar tells you whether your search results in Google Scholar are available within the Library's subscription. If yes, the "Findit@CityU" link will be displayed next to the search result. You can then access the full text of the resource.

This function is automatic if you use Google Scholar within campus. If you want to use it from off campus, you need to reset your Web browser. To learn more, refer to Findit@CityU in Google Scholar.