DBA - Research Guide - DBA Programme - Research Guides at Run Run Shaw Library, City University of Hong Kong

Scope

This Research Guide provides a selection of web-based Library resources to support learning and research in the DBA programme.

Resources

Business databases for specialized information

Tip. Search CityU LibraryFind to locate articles, books and more

Search the databases (below) also to find articles or to find statistical and other data not in CityU LibraryFind.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Provides market, consumer and country data including brands, industry and company profiles
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains company and industry profiles, product reviews, market research and country reports.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more on all business disciplines.
中國資訊行 INFOBANK This link opens in a new window
A web-based online service on China's news, business and legal information. It offers access to databases such as INFOBANK Business Briefing 環球商訊庫, China Listed Company 中國上市公司文獻庫, China Business Report 中國商業報告庫, China Economic News 中國經濟新聞庫, etc.

Company and financial data & statistics

The articles in the databases below are generally available in CityU LibraryFind.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
contains scholarly peer-reviewed articles, trade publications, patent records and quality web resources. It also has tools to track and analyse literature.
Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index of journals spanning 50 social sciences disciplines.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Covers all major management disciplines from marketing, human resources management, library and information management and quality to operations management and more.

Newspapers

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of newspapers and business sources from around the world including company reports and industry publications.
WisersOne This link opens in a new window
News from over 1,000 newspapers and magazines published in mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, and other regions.

Watching a video is an easy way to learn new information in your subject area. Take a look at the online video collections listed below.

You can also find business DVDs in CityU LibraryFind.

LinkedIn Learning
An online video training package. Topics include Leadership, customer services, business analytics fundamentals, motivating employees, and many more. Includes exercises and transcripts. Download a video and learn on the go.

Business Education in Videos This link opens in a new window
Features executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, How To features and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment..Subjects covered include Globalization, Management, Marketing, Finance, Entrepreneurship, International Business, Ethics, Cross-cultural Communication, Technology, & more.
HSTalks: The Business & Management Collection This link opens in a new window
Online video lectures and case studies from leading academics and experts in commerce and industry. Topics range from global business management to economics and finance. It’s updated regularly with the hottest topics in business.

Faculty Seminar Series - Harvard Business School
The series features video lectures from renowned staff at the Harvard Business School from 2002 to 2010. All lectures are captured from executive education programs, offering ideas, research, and practical advice on management issues.

Search CityU LibraryFind to locate e-books, books, DVDs and more.

Limit your search to Books & Media+

Tip. Take a look at the Guide Using ebooks @CityU for help on using e-books.

More help

Library Research Guides
Access books & articles from other Libraries

Business Guides

Guides on Research

Literature Review - Finding the Resources
Measuring research impact
Citing sources of information - Has details on how to cite using APA style

Featured Guides

HKALL Place requests for books held at other UGC libraries and the books will be delivered to CityU Library for you to collect.

Interlibrary Loan Services: to obtain literature not available at the Library from other sources. Includes articles and books.

JULAC Library cards: access to other UGC Libraries with borrowing privileges

Using Google Scholar to find journal articles

You can click on the Findit@CityU links in Google Scholar to go to the full text of journal articles available in the Library's collection. These links appear automatically when you are on campus.

Off-campus access

To have the Findit@CityU links appear when you are off campus, you need to change the settings in Google Scholar. See the guide here.

DBA Programme

Looking for case studies?

Get Help

Scope

Resources

More help

Using Google Scholar to find journal articles