Research Guides: Materials Science and Engineering: Find articles &amp; more

How to use Research Databases

To learn more about selecting the appropriate library databases to use, refer to this short video.

And also read our guide - Finding Journal Articles.

Databases

Use the Library Databases to find articles from popular and scholarly journals, newspapers, conference papers and other publications. Tip. Make sure you develop your search strategy before you start searching.

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
delivers interdisciplinary engineering content covering published reference sources, videos, along with calculator tools, interactive graphs, and downloadable tables.
AIP Publishing This link opens in a new window
AIP Publishing (formerly Scitation) contains journals, conferences proceedings and books from American Institute of Physics (AIP) and its partners, covering a wide range of disciplines in the physical sciences.
Not all content is available for CityU users. For the journals subscribed by the Library, full-text is available. Article-level metrics are available for individual articles.
IOPscience This link opens in a new window
provides access to journal content published by IOP (Institute of Physics).
Science Database This link opens in a new window
provides access periodicals in science and technology.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
it contains numerous scholarly full-text journals.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
provides integrated access to references, substances and reactions in chemistry and other science and engineering disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
contains scholarly peer-reviewed articles, trade publications, patent records and quality web resources. It also has tools to track and analyse literature.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
provides access to journals, journal articles, books, and book series in the fields of social sciences, and STM (scientific, technical and medical).
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Consists of three ISI citation indexes, providing access to peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers and patents. It also provides citation and impact factor information.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
covers life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. This collection includes full-text of journal articles, e-books and reference works.