Research Guides: Creative Media: Articles

How to use Research Databases

To learn more about selecting the appropriate library databases to use, refer to this short video.

And also read our guide - Finding Journal Articles.

Journal databases are searchable collections of journals. They often include advanced search features designed for academic research.

Follow the links below to view some recommended databases for finding academic journal articles, or view complete list of databases for Creative Media.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Part of the Web of Science, this is a multidisciplinary index to scholarly journal literature of the arts and humanities with coverage of art, music, television, film, and other media-related areas.
Academic Search Premier (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A large scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large, multi-disciplinary, abstract and citation database of scholarly literature.

Want to keep up to date with all the news from the Arts world? Try these well-regarded publications:

(print only)

Flash Art (print only)

OR check these arts news sites. PRO-TIP: sign up for email alerts or add the sources to your favourite content manager.

The Art Newspaper
"Founded in 1990, The Art Newspaper is an online and paper publication based in London and New York. It provides an unrivalled news service about the art world, fed by its network of sister editions, which together have around 50 correspondents working in over 30 countries, with editorial offices in London, Turin, New York, Paris, Moscow, Beijing and Athens."
Frieze
"Frieze was founded in 1991 by Amanda Sharp, Matthew Slotover and Tom Gidley with the launch of frieze magazine, a leading magazine of contemporary art and culture."
Hyperallergic
"Hyperallergic is a forum for playful, serious, and radical perspectives on art and culture in the world today."
International Association of Arts Critics Hong Kong
"The International Association of Art Critics Hong Kong (AICAHK) comprises of art critics living in Hong Kong who have actively published about art and/or participated in radio or television programmes on a regular basis"
RanDian
"We seek to promote independent cultural debate in China and to foster intellectual exchange between China and the rest of the world. This means independent commentary on art, artists, exhibitions and galleries, as well as video, architecture and design."