Skip to main content

Teaching Support from the Library - A Guide for Teaching Staff

Increase your students' awareness of Library resources

Linking to the full-text of electronic articles 

  • You can share an article from CityU LibraryFind or from one of the Library's databases with your students by providing an OpenURL link. This acts as a stable and direct link to the document and it also helps you comply with our licensing agreements.
    • To get an OpenURL of an article, you can use Citation Linker if you have article citation details. Refer to this guide to learn more.
    • You can also get the OpenURLs in most Library article databases by using the "Check@CityULib" feature. Refer to this guide to learn more.

 Linking to a title in CityU LibraryFind

  • You may want to link to a book, e-book, DVD, or other items found in CityU LibraryFind*.  To do this, conduct a search in CityU LibraryFind.  Then, copy and paste the Permalink of the record into your webpage or Canvas course site.

         

* For electronic articles found in CityU LibraryFind, refer to "Linking to the full-text of electronic articles" above.

Linking to other Library resources

 

Add a direct link to a database

If there is a specific Library database that you would like to link to, simply find the title of the databases under the Database by Title or Database by Subject/Source Type list, right click on the database title that you want to link to, select "copy shortcut" or "copy link location" (depending on what browser you are using), and paste the link into your webpage or Blackboard course.

You can provide easy access to video, audio and image databases in your Canvas course site by linking directly to Library databases that include videos, audio files, and images.

Link to "Ask a Librarian"

Link to our Ask a Librarian email reference service to provide easy access for students to ask questions on finding articles, citing sources, and more by email.