Skip to main content

Keeping Current in your Field

This guide was created to keep you up-to-date with research information

Citation alert

Citation Alert - Notification of new articles citing an article of your choice

Some Library-subscribed article databases, such as ScienceDirectScopus, and Web of Science, provide Citation Alert so that information of new articles citing your chosen articles can be sent to you automatically.

After setting up a citation alert, you will be notified of the new articles citing your desired article via E-mail or RSS.

This page assists you to set up E-mail citation alerts and RSS citation alerts.

Note that a citation alert allows you to track when an article has been cited. However, the availability of new citations depends on the databases you are using. So it is unlikely that all citations will be tracked with the citation alerts you created.

How to set up e-mail citation alerts?

The ways of setting up of citation alerts differ in different databases. Below are steps generally applicable to most databases.

Step 1: Go to your desired article by searching or browsing. For example:

    
     [from Web of Science]

Step 2: Click on the title of the article, or click "Abstract", "Detail", "Summary", etc., depending on the database you are using, to view the full record of the article you want to track. 

Step 3: Click "Alert me when this article is cited", "Citation alert", "Create citation alert", "Alerts", "E-mail alerts", etc., depending on the database you are using.

    

Step 4: For most databases, you will be asked to log into your personal account.  Register for a personal account with the database you use if you have not done so. Then log into your account.

    

Step 5: Depending on the database you are using, you may then be asked to i) enter your e-mail address; ii) enter the name of the alert; iii) set the alert frequency; iv) set the alert validity, etc. Then save your citation alert.

You can also modify the setting of your saved citation alerts while logged in.

   

You will be notified via e-mail when your desired article has been cited.

How to set up RSS citation alerts?

Steps taken to add an RSS citation feed vary depending on the databases and the RSS reader/aggregator you are using. Below are some steps generally applicable to setting up RSS citation alerts in most databases.

Step 1: Install an RSS reader/aggregator on your computer, or register at a web-based RSS reader, such as My Yahoo. For more about RSS, read the "RSS" page of this guide.

Then open or log into your RSS reader/aggregator.

Step 2: Go to your desired article by searching or browsing. For example:

  
      [from Web of Science]

 

Step 3: Click on the title of the article, or click "Abstract", "Detail", "Summary", etc., depending on the database you are using, to view the full record of the article you want to track.

Step 4: Select "Citation feed", "Citation alert", "RSS alert", "Create citation alert" or click the  or button on the article page, depending on the database you are using.

   

[from Scopus]

Note: "Web of Science" requires you to log into your personal account first.

Step 5: You may then see a Syndication Feed link or a "Subscribe to this feed" link. The ways to add a feed vary depending on the article database and RSS reader/aggregator you are using. You can copy the URL of this feed, or right-click on the "Subscribe to this feed" link and select "Copy Shortcut" for IE or "Copy Link Location" for Firefox from the popped up menu.

    

Then paste the URL into your reader manually. You can change the feed title, if desired.

     

You will be alerted of new articles citing your desired article via your RSS reader. 

Which databases provide citation alert?

Below are some article databases or e-journal collections that provide citation alert services: