Research Guides: Accountancy: Financial data

Finding financial data, & more from Library-subscribed databases

Use the Library Databases to find financial data for companies, stock performance, financial ratios, indices' performance, auditing information, compensation and much more.

OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Provides information on over 79,000 listed companies worldwide. Contains detailed financial information including income statement, balance sheet, cash flow statement, ratios, stock performance, ratings and more. Search over a range of companies.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva contains financial information for listed companies worldwide and historical financial market data. Provides quotes on stocks, funds, currencies and common market indexes e.g. Hang Seng Index.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides brief company information. Search for public and some private companies worldwide based on revenue, employee numbers, industry code/description, and by country. Covers over 18,000 Hong Kong companies. After entering the database select 'Company Information' from top of screen.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Provides market, consumer and country data including brands, industry and company profiles
Refinitiv Eikon This link opens in a new window
Provides access to financial data on public companies. The Library has access to: Equity Issues-covering IPOs and more; and Merger & Acquisitions.
Note that there is a 30 day embargo on current data.
Available in the Library only. Access restricted to current CityU staff and students. Please enquire at the IT Help Desk.
Compustat Global This link opens in a new window
Provides data covering public traded companies in more than 80 countries, representing over 90% of the world's market capitalisation, including coverage over 96% of European market capitalisation and 88% of Asian market capitalisation. For current CityU staff & students only.
Remote access is available for faculties, research assistants and postgraduate students.
For other authorized CityU users (excluding alumni, JULAC Library Card holders, SCOPE students and other walk-in users) other than the faculty, research assistants and postgraduate students, access to "WRDS" is provided only via Library workstations. Please approach the Library staff at the IT Help Desk for logging in the database.
Compustat Executive Compensation This link opens in a new window
Provides executive compensation data for company's top officers for companies within the S&P 1500. For current CityU staff & students only.
Remote access is available for faculties, research assistants and postgraduate students.

For other authorized CityU users (excluding alumni, JULAC Library Card holders, SCOPE students and other walk-in users) other than the faculty, research assistants and postgraduate students, access to "WRDS" is provided only via Library workstations. Please approach the Library staff at the IT Help Desk for logging in the database.
BankFocus This link opens in a new window
BankFocus provides detailed information on public and private banks worldwide including ratings reports, ownership information and bank structures.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) This link opens in a new window
Includes financial, accounting and corporate governance information including security prices, analyst forecasts and more, mostly for the U.S. For current CityU staff and students only.
Remote access limited to faculties, research assistants and postgraduate students.

All Accountancy databases

Annual reports

Annual report is a comprehensive report on a company's activities. Shareholders and other interested people may refer to annual reports in order to learn about the company's activities and financial performance throughout the preceding year.

Electronic copies of Hong Kong company annual reports

Searching the website of a company and looking for the annual report/company report under links such as "Investor Relations" or "Financial Statements".

The following websites have links to annual reports from selected public companies from Australia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Korea, Singapore and Taiwan. The latest 4 years of reports are available for a few companies. Includes links to corporate governance information for some HK companies.

The following are the Annual Reports published by the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants:

CPA Website