Research Guides: Company Information: Annual reports

Annual reports - Local and international companies

What is a company annual report?

An annual report is an account of a public company's activity, what they did and why in a financial year. It includes financial data, results of continuing operations, future ventures, names of key staff, and more.

Annual report available on company website

To locate the annual report, look for links on the company homepage such as "investor relations", "investors", "financial reports", "10k report" (for US listed companies). Tip. Often the links are at the end of the page.

Annual reports available in library subscribed resources and freely available websites

HKEx 香港交易所 Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing
(Website). To open up an annual report, enter a stock code or name, select Financial Statements/ESG Information from the "Headline Category", then choose "Annual report" from drop down menu underneath. Adjust time period.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
-- Reportal Company Reports. (Library resource)
In Business Source Complete, select "SO: Publication Name" field from drop down menu and enter "Reportal Company Reports".Covers annual and interim reports from selected global companies from Australia, China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand, Vietnam and more, from 2012 to current.

Irasia.com
(Website). Selected reports from Australia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Singapore and Taiwan. Includes announcements/notices, corporate governance details, prospectuses, financial reports, returns on share capital, & more.
more...less...
This is a free resource, available on the Web.

ProQuest Annual Report Collection This link opens in a new window
Library database. Historical annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies. Coverage starts from 1916 for a few select companies. Latest reports are from 2009.
Refinitiv Eikon This link opens in a new window
Library database. Covers public companies from around the world. Available filings include annual reports, 10-K reports and more.
Available in the Library only. Access restricted to current CityU staff and students. Please enquire at the IT Help Desk.

EDGAR
(Website). From the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Annual reports are identified by the code 10-K. A 10-K filing typically contains more detailed financial information than the annual report that a company sends to its shareholders.
AnnualReports.com
(Website) View selected annual reports from companies worldwide. Reports are free but you may need to register.
Northcote
(Website) Free online resource that provides annual reports of U.K. public companies. Search by company name or by industry sector.

Historical reports & corporate documents for Hong Kong listed companies

Main board Listed Companies annual/interim reports
Annual and interim reports listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. On DVDs. From 2006-.
Hong Kong Listed Companies annual/interim reports
Reports from 1996 to 2005. Available on CD-ROMs.
LCAR (Listed Companies' Annual Reports)
Reports published from 1949 to 1995. On microform.
Main Board Listed Companies corporate documents
Corporate documents (excluding annual and interim reports) of companies listed on Hong Kong Stock Exchange. Available on DVDs. From 2007-.
Hong Kong Listed Companies corporate documents
Excludes annual and interim reports. Available on CD-ROMs. From 1997 to 2006.