Research Guides: Business Information on China: Financial Data

Financial data

Search the Library's databases and selected web sites to find financial and market data.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains current and historical pricing on a variety of financial instruments including stocks, funds and market indexes.
To quickly locate information:
1.Select "Quotes" under "Companies/Markets" tab.
2.Select an instrument from the drop down menu
OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Publicly listed companies. Contains financial information (income statements, balance sheets, cash flows, key ratios, total assets), ownership data, stock data, earnings estimates, ratings and more.
BankFocus This link opens in a new window
Financial information for public and private banks.
Refinitiv Eikon This link opens in a new window
Provides integrated access to several financial databases including: Equity Issues; Merger & Acquisitions.
Available in the Library only. Access restricted to current CityU staff and students. Please enquire at the IT Help Desk.
中國上市公司文獻庫 China Listed Company Database This link opens in a new window
Provides financial information as well as announcements and reports on Chinese listed companies (including A shares, B shares and H shares) on the Shenzhen and Shanghai stock markets.
Compustat Global This link opens in a new window
Covers public traded companies. Includes annual & quarterly data, index prices and security daily data.
Remote access is available for faculties, research assistants and postgraduate students.
For other authorized CityU users (excluding alumni, JULAC Library Card holders, SCOPE students and other walk-in users) other than the faculty, research assistants and postgraduate students, access to "WRDS" is provided only via Library workstations. Please approach the Library staff at the IT Help Desk for logging in the database.

All company and financial databases

Credit ratings of a company

For an independent evaluation of the financial status of a company refer to credit ratings from organizations such as Moody's, Standard & Poor's and Fitch and from those based in China.

Library databases

OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Contains credit ratings from Moody’s, S&P (Standard & Poor’s), Fitch or WVB. Select Ratings.
To view the ratings for an individual company in OSIRIS, enter company name and click on List to open up a standard report.
BankFocus This link opens in a new window
BankFocus provides detailed information on public and private banks worldwide including ratings reports, ownership information and bank structures.

Websites

China Lianhe Credit Rating Co., Ltd.
大公国际资信评估有限公司
Dagong is a specialized credit rating and risk analysis research institution in China. [Chinese version only]
中誠信國際信用評級有限責任公司 - CCXI
Corporate & financial institutions ratings

Annual reports

An annual report of a listed company provides a comprehensive account of a company's activity and includes detailed financial information.

To locate an annual report, refer to a company's web site and look for links such as Investor Relations (投資者關係) or Investors (投資者).

Annual reports of listed companies are also available on the website of the:

Shanghai Stock Exchange

Shenzhen Stock Exchange

Search by stock code or abbreviated name.

Stock market data

For statistical data about the stock markets refer to the following web sites:

Shenzhen Stock Exchange
Select "Market data"
Shanghai Stock Exchange
Select "Market Information", or "Listed Companies."

OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Library database. Provides share price information, and more
Refinitiv Eikon This link opens in a new window
Library database. Detailed equity information.
Available in the Library only. Access restricted to current CityU staff and students. Please enquire at the IT Help Desk.

Key ratios

Looking for key ratios for a company? Try the following Library databases:

OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Covers public companies from around the world including those listed on Shanghai & Shenzhen stock exchanges.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Offers detailed financial results for listed companies. Enter company name. Select "Financial results". Choose "Statement type" -> "Key ratios."
BankFocus This link opens in a new window
Covers public and private banks