Research Guides: Business Information on China: Company profiles, overviews, ownership & more.

Company profiles & overviews

Refer to company profiles (also called reports) & overviews to find independent reviews, financials, news, major developments, key staff details, operations & more.

Library databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Has detailed company profiles for some major companies from China. Includes company overview, financials, subsidiary & competitor information and more. Select "Company Profiles" on database homepage.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides company overview, financials, news, business operations, customized reports & more. Select "Companies/Markets" on the database homepage banner.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more on all business disciplines.
中國上市公司文獻庫 China Listed Company Database This link opens in a new window
Provides financial information as well as announcements and reports on Chinese listed companies (including A shares, B shares and H shares) on the Shenzhen and Shanghai stock markets.
Refinitiv Eikon This link opens in a new window
Covers global economic, company and financial data.
Available in the Library only. Access restricted to current CityU staff and students.
中國年鑒網絡出版總庫 China Yearbooks Full-text Database This link opens in a new window
此國內年鑒資源全文數據庫內容覆蓋基本國情、地理歷史、政治軍事外交、法律、經濟、教育、文化體育事業、社會生活、人物、統計資料、法律法規等各個領域。讀者可按行業、行政區及專輯分類瀏覽數據庫內的年鑒。

Company ownership, merger & acquisition information

Search the following Library databases for ownership information of listed companies, company subsidiary/parent, and mergers & acquisitions details.

OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Select "Ownership data" from the company report to find information on ownership, shareholders & names of subsidiaries.
Refinitiv Eikon This link opens in a new window
Covers global economic, company and financial data.
Available in the Library only. Access restricted to current CityU staff and students.

Business Source Complete
To find subsidiaries and parent information, select "Company Information" from right side of database homepage.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
News & latest developments about mergers & acquisitions.

Major competitors

You can compare a company's performance with its main competitors or peers. To locate competitors/peers of public and global private companies, use the following Library databases.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Select "Companies/Markets" > "Company." Select "Peer comparison" from company report.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Find "top competitor" information in company profiles for selected major companies. Select "Company profiles" from right side of database homepage.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more on all business disciplines.
OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
On company report page, select "Customers & competitors" > "Major competitors".