Business Information on China

China Monthly Statistics. Includes national accounts, industry, energy, price index, stocks and more.

Economic indicators - China

Economic indicators such as GDP (Gross Domestic Product), Consumer Price Index, retail sales, employment numbers and other indicators help to provide information on the health of an economy. 

Refer to the following electronic resources to locate economic indicators for China:

• Statistical data. From the National Bureau of Statistics China. (Use Edge browser)
  • GDP
• Statistics, From the Ministry of Commerce, PRC

• 最新中国大型企业 [Library database]

• 中國年鑒網絡出版總庫 = China Yearbooks Full-text Database [Library database]

• PMI (Purchasing Managers' Index). From Caixin Global.

• 财新数据. From 财新.

Other print resources held in the Library’s collection:

• 中國經濟景氣月報 = China monthly economic indicators

• Key indicators for Asia and the Pacific from the Asian Development Bank

Economic indicators for China and overseas

You can compare China’s economic indicators with those of other countries by referring to the following Library databases:

• Monthly Bulletin of Statistics From the United Nations. Monthly compilation of data starting from 2000 onwards.

• World Development Indicators [Library database].

• UNData (from the United Nations Statistics Division) [Electronic resource]

• MSCI Emerging Markets Index. Captures large and mid cap representation across 24 Emerging Markets countries.

• Composite Leading Indicators. From the OECD.

Use Advanced Search in CityU LibraryFind, and search by Subject to locate other print and electronic resources that provide economic indicators..

Examples of searches include:

• Economic indicators -- China
• Economic indicators -- China -- Fujian Sheng -- Periodicals.
• Economic indicators -- China -- Guangdong Sheng -- Periodicals