|
Book Metrics |
Books and book chapters are important forms of research output, contributing to the advancement of knowledge across various disciplines. However, assessing the impact of books poses challenges compared to other types of research output, primarily because there are no universally accepted metrics or standardized systems for measuring the impact of books. Additionally, widely used databases like Scopus and Web of Science tend to have limited coverage of books, typically focusing on specific book series rather than comprehensive coverage. As a result, the assessment of book impact often involves a combination of quantitative and qualitative approaches, taking into account various indicators and considerations. |
What is it
Citation count serves as a primary metric for assessing the impact of books and book chapters, similar to other forms of research output. It involves tracking the number of times these books have been cited or referenced by other scholarly works. By examining citation counts, authors and researchers can gain insights into the influence and reach of their books and book chapters within the academic community. This quantitative measure helps to gauge the recognition, relevance, and scholarly contribution of these books, providing evidence of their impact and the extent to which they have influenced subsequent research and scholarship.
How to find it
| Scopus (inc. how to excl. self-citations) > |
|
In Scopus, the citation count of the book can be found on the record page, below the title of the record. To exclude self-citations, refer to the guide Impact of Articles > Scopus (inc. how to excl. self-citations).
|
| Web of Science (inc. how to excl. self-citations) > |
|
In Web of Science, the citation count of the book can be found on the record page, next to the record details. To exclude self-citations, refer to the guide Impact of Articles > Web of Science (inc. how to excl. self-citations).
|
| Google Scholar > |
|
In Google Scholar, the citation count of the book can be found on the record page, below the record details. The guide Build your Google Scholar profile shows more information on Google Scholar.
|
What is it
Book reviews offer a critical analysis and assessment of the content, methodology, and contribution of a book or research work. They are typically written by scholars or subject matter experts who are knowledgeable in the specific area of study. These reviews provide readers with insights into the strengths, weaknesses, and significance of the work being reviewed. By reading book reviews of your own work, you can gain an understanding of how your research is being received by the scholarly community. Book reviews also serve as a way to increase the visibility and reach of your research. When your work is reviewed in reputable academic journals, it can attract the attention of other researchers, potentially leading to collaborations, citations, and further discussions around your research topic.
How to find it
| Library Search > |
|
1. On the library homepage, key in the book title and search. 2. Refine the results by selecting "Reviews" under "Resource Type", and click "APPLY FILTERS". 3. Click the title of the review article and follow the paths to view the full-text on the publisher website.
|
| Scopus > |
|
1. On Scopus, key in the book title and search. 2. Click the title of the review article. 3. Click the "Full text options" and follow the paths to view the full-text on the publisher website.
|
| Web of Science > |
|
1. On Web of Science, key in the book title and search. 2. Click the title of the review article. 3. Click one of the full-text options and follow the paths to view the full-text on the publisher website.
|
What is it
Prestigious databases and libraries worldwide have distinct selection criteria for the materials they choose to index in their collections or include in their holdings. Thus, being selected and included in these databases or library collections is a strong indication of the quality and merit of a book. It demonstrates that the book has met the rigorous standards set by these respected institutions, attesting to its significance and contribution in its respective field. This recognition not only enhances the visibility and reputation of the book but also ensures that it is accessible to a wide range of researchers, validating its scholarly value and impact.
How to find it
