Skip to main content
A Research Hub of Excellence

CityU Scholars transition page

CityU Scholars Transition Page

NEWS AND UPDATE

News Archive

CityU Scholars – System Upgrade (17 Oct 2018)

The backend system of CityU Scholars will be upgraded to a newer release on 17 October 2018 (Wednesday) from 8:00pm to 9:00pm. During the period, the following services will be temporarily unavailable.

  • CityU Scholars
  • CityU Scholars Backend (Pure)

Any enquiries can be directed to scholars-support@cityu.edu.hk.

Thank you for your attention.

(11 Oct 2018)

CityU Scholars - Training Workshops and Consultation Sessions

The Library is pleased to offer another round of CityU Scholars Training Workshops and Consultation Sessions at the start of the new academic year. If you are a new faculty member, a newly enrolled research student, a newly appointed CityU Scholars departmental administrator, or even if you would simply like to refresh your knowledge on CityU Scholars, the Workshops and Consultation Sessions are for YOU.

CityU Scholars is an Integrated Research Information System which aggregates the University’s research information from different internal and external sources on a single platform. Its web portal showcases our researchers’ research output, activities and achievement to the global audience. Records collected in the CityU Scholars will be extracted by the University for reporting (e.g. RGC reporting), performance review (e.g. annual appraisal) and benchmarking purposes.

New faculty and research students by default will have a researcher account in CityU Scholars. With the account, you will need to do the following:

  • Add in your biographical information to enrich your CityU Scholars researcher profile
  • Manage your research output information by verifying and claiming the Library-harvested records or creating your own records
  • Enter your research activity information (e.g. journal editorship, organising a conference, consultation services)
  • Record your research achievement (e.g. prizes and honours, impact cases, press and media coverage)
  • Complete the ORCID Creation and Integration Exercise which is a University Requirement

The Workshop will show you how to perform the aforementioned.

Registration is needed for the Workshops only. We encourage you to stay behind for the Consultation Session that follows. Bring your own CV or publication list, try entering the information in your CityU Scholars account and discuss your questions face to face with our ambassadors in a more personalized way during the Consultation Session. Those who skip the Workshop are also welcome to walk in for the Consultation Session.

24th September 2018

2nd October 2018

Workshops*

10:00am – 11:30am

2:30pm – 4:00pm 

Consultation Sessions**

11:30am – 12:30pm

4:00pm – 5:00pm

Venue: Library User Education Room

Online Registration: http://www.cityu.edu.hk/lib/research/workshop/cs.htm

Workshops: The two sessions are identical with 30 quota each. The Library reserves the right to cancel any session with less than 5 registrants. 

** Consultation Sessions: Walk in anytime during the timeslot.

Any further enquiries can be directed to lbscholars@cityu.edu.hk.

(7 Sep 2018)

Training Workshops and Clinic Sessions

In view of faculty’s needs to review and update their research output and activity records in CityU Scholars for RGC reporting and e-APR purposes, the Library is organizing another round of training workshops. Each workshop is followed by a clinic session whereby participants can make use of the laptops in the venue to try inputting their records with our ambassadors around to answer their questions.

Registration is needed for the workshops but not the clinic sessions. There are two identical sessions with 30 quota each as follows:

4 July 2018 (Wed) 9 July 2018 (Mon) Enrollment Method
2:30pm - 3:30pm Workshop Workshop Register Online
3:30pm - 5:30pm Clinic Session Clinic Session Walk-in anytime during the timeslot
Venue: Library User Education Room

Apart from faculty and research staff, Departmental Administrators with or without prior experience in CityU Scholars record updating are also welcome to attend. (The Library reserves the right to cancel any session with less than 5 registrants).

Any further enquiries can be directed to lbscholars@cityu.edu.hk.

(28 Jun 2018)

Articles in Press Included in Regular Harvesting

The Library provides ongoing record harvesting services from different databases to faculty. We are pleased to announce that we have now included articles in press from Scopus in our harvesting as well so that faculty can quickly showcase their publications as soon as they are accepted.

(13 Jun 2018) 

CNKI Harvested to Include Chinese Records

CNKI - China Academic Journals Full-text Database (中國知網 – 中國期刊全文數據庫) is the largest and continuously updated Chinese journal database in the world, focuses on academy, technology, policy guidance, popular science and education journals and covers science, engineering technology, agriculture, philosophy, medicine, humanities and social sciences, etc. It has collected 10,351 China academic journals, and the full-text paper amount has reached to 62,792,896. Apart from Scopus and Web of Science, the Library has now extended its scope of regular record harvesting to include CNKI as well so as to strengthen our coverage on Chinese publications. 

(7 Jun 2018)

Submission of Research output 2017-2018

Announcement from the Research Grants & Contract Office regarding the annual submission of research output to the RGC. (Details)

(7 Jun 2018) 

CityU Scholars – System Upgrade (8 May)

The backend system of CityU Scholars will be upgraded to a newer release on 8 May 2018 (Tuesday) from 9:00pm to 10:00pm. During the period, the following services will be temporarily unavailable.

  • CityU Scholars
  • CityU Scholars Backend (Pure)

Any enquiries can be directed to scholars-support@cityu.edu.hk.

Thank you for your attention.

(4 May 2018)

CityU Scholars – System Upgrade (13 Mar)

The backend system of CityU Scholars will be upgraded to a newer release on 13 March 2018 (Tuesday) from 9:00pm to 10:00pm. During the period, the following services will be temporarily unavailable.

  • CityU Scholars (portal)
  • CityU Scholars Backend (Pure)

Any enquiries can be directed to scholars-support@cityu.edu.hk.

Thank you for your attention.

(6 Mar 2018)

CityU Scholars – System Upgrade (6 Feb)

The backend system of CityU Scholars will be upgraded to a newer release on 6 February 2018 (Tuesday) from 9:00pm to 10:00pm. During the period, the following services will be temporarily unavailable.

  • CityU Scholars (portal)
  • CityU Scholars Backend (Pure)

Any enquiries can be directed to scholars-support@cityu.edu.hk.

Thank you for your attention.

(30.1.2018)

Highly Cited Researchers at CityU (2017) 

Clarivate Analytics has recently issued the 2017 Highly Cited Researcher List. Please click the links below for more details:

2017 Highly Cited Researchers - CityU
 
2017 Highly Cited Researchers – The Complete List
 
What does it mean to be Highly Cited?

(22.11.2017)

CityU Scholars – System Upgrade (14 Nov)

The backend system of CityU Scholars will be upgraded to a newer release on 14 November 2017 (Tuesday) from 9:00pm to 10:00pm to improve its performance. During the period, the following services will be temporarily unavailable.

  • CityU Scholars (portal)
  • CityU Scholars Backend (Pure)

Any enquiries can be directed to scholars-support@cityu.edu.hk.

Thank you for your attention.

(7 Nov 2017)

Priority Processing of Records Related to RGC Reporting (2016-2017)

A considerable amount of new records have been created in CityU Scholars awaiting to be validated. For the purpose of the 2016 - 2017 RGC Reporting Exercise, the Library will first validate records of publications that fall into the reporting period (i.e. 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2017) with priority. 
Given the high transaction volume, the processing time may take several days. We are grateful for colleagues’ patience. 

For the other records not directly related to the 2016-2017 RGC Reporting Exercise, please be reassured that the Library will continue to process them as soon as possible.

(18.7.2017)

[Reminder] Contents NOT Requiring Manual Input

Please be reminded that the following contents are being synchronized into the System from the data sources in order to streamline the data input process and reduce unnecessary data entry by the end users. You DO NOT need to input them into the System yourself:

  • Projects and Grants (From IRIS)
  • Patents (CityU) and Licensing Agreements (From KTO)
  • Student Theses (From SGS)
  • Research Student Supervision (From SGS)

(Details)

(12.7.2017)

CityU Scholars - Training Workshop

At the start of the new academic year, the Library is organizing another round of training workshop on CityU Scholars. There are two identical sessions.

Date Time Venue Online
Registration
11 September 2017 (Monday) 3:30 pm – 5:30 pm Library User Education Room
12 September 2017 (Tuesday) 10:00 am – 12:00 noon

The workshop aims at helping our faculty members to make the best use of CityU Scholars to showcase their research achievement. Topics that we will cover include, but not limited to, the following:

  • Updating and enhancing your researcher profile on CityU Scholars
  • Claiming the research output that the Library has harvested for you from Scopus and Web of Science
  • Inputting your other research output and activity information (e.g. journal editorship, media coverage or contribution, prizes and honours, etc.) in CityU Scholars
  • Generating CVs in CityU Scholars
  • Making use of CityU Scholars to recruit PhD students and research assistants
  • Understanding synchronized contents and knowing that you do not need to input them yourself

All faculty members are welcome to join, especially new comers who are new to CityU Scholars.

To reserve a place, please fill out the online registration form.

Enquiries related to CityU Scholars or the training workshop can be sent to lbscholars@cityu.edu.hk or the subject librarians.

We look forward to seeing you in the workshop.

(6 Sep 2017)

Formal Launch of new Research System: CityU Scholars

The University's new Research System, CityU Scholars, has been officially launched to the public on 30 June 2017, following its soft launch within the University community in April 2017. (Details)

(23.6.2017) (News on CityU NewsCentre)

Submission of Annual Performance Report / Performance Appraisal Report 2016/17

Announcement from the Human Resources Office regarding the captioned. (Details)

(23.6.2017)

Submission of Research Output 2016-2017

Announcement from the Research Grants & Contracts Office regarding the annual submission of research output to the RGC. Starting from 2016-2017, research output will be collected via CityU Scholars. (Details)

(14.6.2017)

Review Your Profile before Formal Launch of CityU Scholars (by the end of June 2017)

The University has announced the soft launch of its new integrated research information system, CityU Scholars, on 18 April 2017. To ensure that your CityU Scholars researcher profile covers what you intend to show and your research related information is correct and up-to-date, faculty members are advised to review your profiles and research output/activity information on CityU Scholars and update/edit it before the formal launch of its portal frontend to the public by the end of June 2017.

It is a nice practice to keep your research output/activity information in CityU Scholars up-to-date. From 2017/2018 onwards, the University will extract data from CityU Scholars for RGC reporting and eAPR exercise purposes.

(18.4.2017)

Drop-in clinic

Drop-in clinic is intended for both academic and administrative staff members:

  • Interactive sessions for you to consult the support team who will be on hand to answer your questions 
  • Offer a supported environment for you to manage the researcher profile and add research output/activity information to Pure (the backend of CityU Scholars) with the PCs in the venue.
  • No registration is needed, just drop in during any clinic session.

Points to note:

  • Make sure that you have a Pure account (either as a faculty member or a trusted user authorized by the faculty) in order to get the most out of the session.
  • Please bring with you details of the research output or activities to work on during the session. 
Drop-in Clinic Sessions
Venue: Library User Education Room
May 2017
4 May  2017 (Thur)
10:00am - 11:00am 
10 May 2017 (Wed)
10:00am - 11:00am 
12 May 2017 (Fri)
10:00am - 11:00am
16 May 2017 (Tue)
10:00am - 11:00am 
18 May 2017 (Thur)
10:00am - 11:00am 
24 May 2017 (Wed)
2:30pm - 3:30pm 
26 May 2017 (Fri)
10:00am - 11:00am 
31 May 2017 (Wed)
2:30pm - 3:30pm 

(13.4.2017)

Training Workshops

Intended for both academic and administrative staff members who need to do the following in CityU Scholars:

  • Maintaining faculty's researcher profiles (e.g. update overview information) 
  • Maintaining faculty's contents in CityU Scholars (e.g. input / claim research output, add research activity, etc.) 
  • Creating/Editing CVs
  • Adding overview information on the research unit page 
  • ​Understanding custom dashboard with research information for different purposes
Training Workshops (with Identical content)
24 April 2017 (Mon)
2:30pm - 5:00pm 
25 April 2017 (Tue)
2:30-pm - 5:00pm 
26 April 2017 (Wed)
10:00am - 12:30pm 
27 April 2017 (Thur)
10:00am - 12:30pm
28 April 2017 (Fri)
10:00am - 12:30pm 
Cantonese English Cantonese Cantonese English
Venue: Library User Education Room      No. of participants: 35 per workshop
Target audience: Both academic and administrative staff
Enroll for a workshop through AIMS now 

Each workshop consists of two parts:  

Part 1 - Introduction to CityU Scholars and Custom Dashboard - by ESU (about 45 min.)

  • Overview of CityU Scholars (Pure as the backend, CityU Scholars as the frontend portal)
  • Reuse of CityU Scholars content for different purposes (RGC reporting, eARP)
  • Reporting of professional affiliation and community engagement to KTO
  • Overview of dashboard function

Part 2 - Profile and Content Management - by Library (about 1½ hours, with hands-on) 

  • Knowing synchronized data (e.g. basic personal data and contact information, projects, patents)
  • Managing/Updating researcher profile
  • Authorizing a "trusted user" 
  • Managing research output (publications, non-textual creative works, etc.)
  • Adding other research information (e.g. research activities, prize/honour, press/media, etc.)
  • Creating/editing CVs
  • Knowing about Open Access and Library's Support 
  • Managing the overview page for a researcher unit (e.g. department)

(13.4.2017)​