Research Guides: Company Information: Competitors, rankings, stats

Major competitors

To make an evaluation of a company you can compare its performance with that of its main competitor/s or peers. You can locate this information using the following Library electronic resources.

OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
Covers public companies from around the world. Enter company name. Click on "Customers and Competitors" on right side of screen.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers public and larger private companies. Good coverage of Hong Kong companies. Select "Companies/Markets" – "Company". Enter Company name. Select "Peer comparisons."
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers major global companies. Select "Company profiles" in right hand column. Open a company report. Click on "Top competitors."
Refinitiv Eikon This link opens in a new window
Covers public and some larger private companies from around the world.
Available in the Library only. Access restricted to current CityU staff and students. Please enquire at the IT Help Desk.
BankFocus This link opens in a new window
Covers public and private banks worldwide. Includes peer group information and peer reports.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more on all business disciplines.

Company rankings

Fortune rankings. Rankings of 100 fastest growing companies, world's most admired companies, top 500 global companies and more.

Forbes magazine. Includes lists of Asia's best companies under a billion, Asia's fab 50 companies, 400 best big companies, most innovative companies, and more.

IndustryWeek US 500 Annual ranking of America's largest public manufacturers, based on revenue.

Inc Has ranking of America's fastest-growing, private companies.

Company statistics - Hong Kong

Companies in Hong Kong representing parent companies located outside Hong Kong

Includes Regional Headquarters, Regional Offices and Local Offices in Hong Kong.

Companies Registry - Statistics

Includes the number of registered companies in Hong Kong, dissolution, liquidation data, & more.

Compulsory winding up and bankruptcy

Includes monthly statistics. From the Official Receiver's Office, HKSAR government.