Research Guides: Business Information for Hong Kong and Shanghai: Journal articles, magazines & newspapers

Journal articles, magazines, trade publications & newspapers

Current and independent research, commentary on and analysis of Hong Kong's business environment can be found in articles in journals, trade publications*, magazines and newspapers. Case studies as well as brand and product reviews are also available.

*Trade publications include articles written by those working within the field.

You can search the following library databases:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly journals, magazines & trade publications. Also includes case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Includes Harvard Business Review.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more on all business disciplines.
South China Morning Post This link opens in a new window
The resource allows you to retrieve any article and image published in the South China Morning Post in the past 20 years.
WisersOne This link opens in a new window
News from over 1,000 newspapers and magazines published in China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Macau. Includes HK Commercial Daily, Ming Pao Daily, Sing Tao Daily and more To search for information on a topic.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 14,000 of the world's leading newspapers and business sources. Includes South China Morning Post, Wall Street Journal Asia, and more. To find news/articles on a topic:
1. On top left of screen, click "Search" -> "Search Builder."
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Not just for Science! Provides access to the full text of many scholarly business, peer- reviewed journal articles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research focused journal articles. Includes conference proceedings. Has tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Includes citation information from 1996 to current.
Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
International, scholarly, research journal articles and conference proceedings. Includes citation information from 1976 on wards. Also includes tools to track research.