Skip to main content

Business Information for Hong Kong and Shanghai

Public companies -- Hong Kong

Information about public companies i.e. those listed on the stock exchange, is easy to locate. Because they are answerable to shareholders, they must release information to the public. Private companies do not have the same requirements so information about these firms can often be hard to find.

Company website

The website of a public company contains extensive information including annual and interim reports, and more.

Company profiles - Library databases

A company profile provides an independent overview of a company. Generally a profile includes company developments, key personnel, financial highlights and more. The Library subscribes to several databases that provide company profiles. These include:

Journals/newspapers - Library databases. 

Refer to journal articles and newspaper articles for independent analyses and commentary on company strategies, management techniques, major developments, and more.

Private companies -- Hong Kong

Company web site

The web site of a private company is generally used to sell products and/or services and does not contain much information about the company itself. Look for company contact details on the site and there may be links e.g. "About us" which provide background information about the company.

Journals/Newspapers

Journals and newspapers are useful sources for information about a private company. Search them to find details about company strategies, brands, products, management changes and more. 

Company directories.

For small private Hong Kong companies, a company directory may the only available source of information. Data is brief and generally it includes contact details, line of business and sometimes employee numbers and contact names.

Company ownership

Search the following Library databases for company ownership information of listed companies:

Strategic analysis or SWOT of a company

Financial information - Library databases

Stock performance

What are liquid stocks?

The Hang Seng Index covers the "largest & most liquid stocks listed on the Main Board of the Hong Kong Stock Exchange ."

What are liquid stocks?

Answer: Liquid stocks are those that are traded in high frequency and volume and can be easily sold at a fair market price.

For a more detailed definition of "liquid", refer to Webster's new world finance and investment dictionary

Credit ratings of a company

For an independent evaluation of the financial status of a listed company, refer to credit ratings from organisations such as Moody's, Standard & Poor's and Fitch

Company competitors/peers