Research Guides: EndNote: Add references to your library

Add references into EndNote

You can export references directly from CityU LibraryFind into your EndNote library.

1. Open your EndNote library.

2. Enter your search terms into CityU LibraryFind.

3. Click on the pin icon next to a search result [record] to save it for exporting. Repeat to save multiple records.

4. When you have finished selecting records, click on the pin icon on the top right of page to view all saved records in My favorites.

5. You will see the list of records you added to My favorites. Then tick the records you want to export to EndNote.

6. Click on the three dots icon to view the Send to options and select ENDNOTE DESKTOP(RIS).

7. Select Download.

8. The records will be automatically added to your EndNote library by opening the downloaded file.

Import from Google Scholar into EndNote

You can easily import one reference at a time: (To import multiple references, see below.)

You can change the settings in Google Scholar to display the Import to EndNote option.

1. Click on the menu

2. Select

3. Change the settings under Bibliography Manager as follows and click Save.

4. Do a search in Google Scholar and select a reference to export from the list of search results.

5. Click on Import into EndNote.

6. To add the reference into EndNote:

Chrome: click on the file in left hand corner. Select Open.
IE: click on Open on box at end of page
Firefox: Select Other > Open with EndNote > OK.
Safari

Guide for Exporting from Google Scholar to EndNote.

Import multiple references

You can import multiple references from Google Scholar into EndNote if you sign in to Google Scholar.

Save the references you want to export by clicking the star icon below the reference.

Go to My Library (top right of screen)
Choose the saved references to export.
Click the download icon > EndNote

Most Library databases have an option to export records directly into EndNote. Look for links in the databases such as Export or Save and select the .ris format or EndNote option to add the records to your library.

A small number of databases do not have this export option. You can try to import them into EndNote using an appropriate filter for the database.

EBSCOHost databases Guide for adding references Includes: Academic Search Premier Business Source Complete Communication & Mass Media Complete and more	ProQuest databases Guide for adding references Includes: PTSDpubs (formerly called PILOTS) APA PsycInfo Social Science Database and more
Factiva. Guide for adding references	SciFinderⁿ. Guide for adding references
HeinOnline. Guide for adding references	Scopus. Guide for adding references
IEEE Xplore. Guide for adding references JSTOR. Guide for adding references PubMed. Guide for adding references	Web of Science Core Collection. Guide for adding references Includes: Science Citation Index Expanded Social Sciences Citation Index Arts & Humanities Citation Index Emerging Sources Citation Index and more

If the reference you need is not available in electronic format or if you are unable to import it, you can create a new record for the reference by typing in the details.

1. Select References > New Reference.

undefined

2. Select the Reference Type from the drop down menu (e.g. Journal Article, Book, Conference Paper, etc.)

undefined

3. Enter the publication details of the reference in the relevant fields (e.g. Author, Title, Year, Volume, Publisher, etc.).

Tips for entering an author's name in the author field:

For an individual author: Last name, First name, e.g. Chan, Tai Man.
For an institutional author: add a comma after the name, e.g. City University of Hong Kong, Or, add a double comma,, e.g. Run Run Shaw Library,, City University of Hong Kong.
For multiple authors: enter each new author on a new line.

4. When finished, click on the internal close button (circled above) which will prompt you to save your reference.

If the database you wish to search does not have an option to export references into EndNote, you can save the reference as a text file then try to import it into EndNote using a filter for the database available with the EndNote software.

In EndNote, select File > Import.
Choose the text file you have saved.
Go to Import Options and select Other Filters... or a relevant filter for the database. Click Import.

undefined

You can also add references to your EndNote library using Connection Files available with the EndNote software. These files allow EndNote to connect, search and import references from Web of Science, some publicly available databases (e.g. PubMed) and library catalogs using the search function within EndNote.

Note:

It is not possible to connect to CityU LibraryFind using a connection file.
The search functions in EndNote are not as sophisticated as those available in a database. You may prefer to search a catalog or database directly to get better results.

To use a Connection file:

1. Select Online Search Mode (Temporary Library) icon. Your results will be held in a temporary library for you to review before adding them to your EndNote library.

undefined

2. Select a library catalogue or online database to search, e.g. PubMed. Enter your keywords into the search box in EndNote.

3. Your search results will go into a temporary library. Select those you wish to add to your EndNote library, then select the icon Copy to Local Library.

undefined