Library Workshop Recordings and Resources
This workshop will explain step-by-step how to set up and deploy AI-powered applications locally using Ollama. We will cover installation, configuration, and running models efficiently on your machine for seamless offline AI development.
Learning goals:
The session is intended for participants who are new to the topic and eager to deepen their understanding.
Duration: 1 hr
This workshop introduces n8n, guiding you through creating your first no-code app using intuitive drag-and-drop tools and real-world integrations.
Learning goals:
The session is intended for participants who are new to the topic and eager to deepen their understanding.
Duration: 1 hr
This workshop covers deploying generative AI via Azure OpenAI, focusing on practical techniques for building entry-level applications across paid and open-source environments.
Learning goals:
The session is intended for participants who are new to the topic and eager to deepen their understanding.
Duration: 1 hr
OpenRefine is a free, open-source tool designed for handling messy data. It helps clean data, transform it from one format to another, and enhance it using web services and external data sources. In this session, attendees will learn the fundamental applications of OpenRefine, including how to clean and transform data and resolve inconsistencies within data sets.
Duration: 1 hr
The Library proudly presents an exclusive online training on the ASM Materials Platform for Data Science: Phase Diagrams. Dive deep into the world of materials science with ASM Phase Diagrams, the crucial guides that empower materials scientists, engineers, and metallurgists in making informed decisions about material selection, alloy design, process optimization, and solving performance issues. The Phase Diagrams of ASM Materials Platform for Data Science (MPDS) is a growing collection which includes over 75,000 binary, ternary, and multinary phase diagrams.
Our expert-led training session will provide you with insightful tips and techniques for navigating this comprehensive database efficiently and effectively.
Speaker: Dr. Evgeny Blokhin (Director & founder - Tilde Materials Informatics, Materials Platform for Data Science OÜ)
Duration: 1 hr
This will be a live demonstration session focused on Scite.ai. It will begin with an overview of Scite’s value in research discovery and evaluation, followed by an explanation of its data approach and the role of Smart Citations. The session will then showcase key features in action, including Discovery Search, the AI-powered Scite Assistant, Dashboards, and Reference Check.
Speaker: Eric Colteau (Implementation Lead, Research Solutions)
Duration: 1 hr
This workshop is tailored for staff and students seeking to enhance their clinical decision-making skills using UpToDate, a leading evidence-based clinical resource. Participants will learn how to navigate the UpToDate database effectively, access the latest research, and apply findings to improve patient care. After this workshop, we hope that you would see UpToDate not just a database but also a clinical support tool.
By the end of this workshop, participants will be able to:
Speakers: Mr. David Wong (Sales Manager - Hong Kong & Macau of Clinical Effectiveness of Wolters Kluwer Health), Ms. Ginger Chang (APAC Customer Success Manager)
Duration: 1 hr
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS), developed by the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania in 1993, is a cross-database research tool in the financial field. This platform facilitates database retrieval and offers functions such as verifying data accuracy and integrating databases.
In this session, you will learn how to navigate the WRDS platform with greater efficiency and confidence. This training will provide a foundational overview, covering account registration, data sourcing, and the use of tools such as Web Query and SAS Studio. The session will showcase popular databases such as S&P Compustat and CRSP through a live demonstration. You will also discover self-learning resources and support options to continue your learning. Join us to unlock the full potential of WRDS for your research.
Speaker: Ms. Erica Zhang (Associate Director, Client Development – Asia Pacific, Wharton Research Data Services)
Duration: 1 hr
Ask a Librarian: lbinf@cityu.edu.hk
 Zoom a Librarian (by appointment)
Phone: 3442-8395 (service hours)
