Research Guides: Statistics: Statistics for countries worldwide

Library collection

The Library has historical and current statistics covering many countries, available in print and on the Web. The most recent statistics are generally available on the Web.

Search the CityU LibraryFind to see what statistics are available in the Library's collection.

Search the Library's databases below.

AllThatStats This link opens in a new window
Provides access to official data time-series statistics of the most important national and international sources as well as semi-official sources, including World Bank, WTO and OECD, etc.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Covers economics, environment & sustainable development, governance, social issues, science and information technology for 34 member countries and others.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics, studies, and infographics gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.

Countries worldwide

Asian Development Bank - Data and Statistics
Includes outlook for development, economic statistics, key economic indicators & millenium development goals data.
FAO statistics
Food and Agriculture Organization
ILO statistics
International Labour Organization
IMF data - International Monetary Fund
Find world economic data and activity, and also financial stability & trade statistics.
OECD data
From the OECD which helps foster economic growth and financial satbility.
UNdata - United Nations
Huge database of statistics for countries worldwide covering agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism.
WHO - Global Health Observatory Data
From the World Health Organization
World Bank Data
Data about development from around the world.
World Bank snapshot statistical country profiles
WTO - World Trade Organization
Statistics on trade flow, tariff data, data on economic and trade policy issues. Includes international trade statistics.

Selected countries and geographic regions

Governments

If you are only interested in official statistics for a particular country, it is often simpler to refer to the relevant government websites. Statistics are generally available for all level of governments (state, province, local) but the amount available will vary for each country.

For example:

Census and Statistics Department, Hong Kong Government
Data.gov. From the U.S.
National Bureau of Statistics China

Regional statistics, try the following:

Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
Eurostats
From the European Commission.

搜數網 Soshoo This link opens in a new window
Library database. Statistics on China, HK, Taiwan, Macau

Quick FactBooks

CIA World Factbook
U.S. government profiles of countries and territories around the world.
The Economist Pocket World in Figures
World rankings and country profiles.
OECD Factbook

Yearbooks

A yearbook provides an annual report or summary of statistics or facts. Many governments and large organizations release a yearbook. In general, these are available on the Web.

Europa World Year Book
- Not just for Europe. Covers 250 countries & territories.
FAO Statistical Yearbook (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations)
Hong Kong Yearbook
United Nations Statistical Yearbook
World Book Year Book
- Has Facts in Brief tables for countries of the world.