Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Statistics

Suggested resources and tips for finding statistics for Hong Kong and for overseas.

Other statistics - International

Education

  • Gapfinder. Displays time series of development statistics for all countries.
  • OECD Education Statistics.
  • Edstats. From the World Bank. Provides data for key topics in education.
  • Higher Education. From the United Nations Institute of Statistics (UNIS). Provides data to track trends in the global, national and regional higher education sector.
  • PISA at a glance. Program for International Student Assessment (PISA). From the OECD. Aims to evaluate education systems worldwide by testing the skills and knowledge of 15-year-old students in participating countries/economies.
  • UNESCO. Covers statistics on education, science, technology, and more.

Health

Environment and Energy

  • UNData. From the United Nations. Select the Environment Statistics database
  • WWF (World Wildlife Fund). Search by individual country
  • OECD iLibrary. Select from list of energy related databases.
  • Energy. Includes energy consumption, reserves and production by country.

Population

  • Demographic statistics. From the United Nations Statistics Division.
  • UNData. From the United Nations. Select the Population database
  • Gapfinder. Displays time series of development statistics for all countries.
  • Population statistics. Includes population milestones, population density, and more

Social indicators.

Current and historical statistics - Library collection

The Library's collection contains both current and historical statistics. These are available both on the web and in print.The most recent statistics are generally available on the Web. 

To find statistics, search the CityU LibraryFind by subject.

Examples of of a search by subject include the following:

  • Asia - Social conditions - Statistics
  • Education - Statistics
  • Population - Statistics
  • Social indicators
  • World health - Statistics

Also search by country e.g.

  • Education - China - Statistics.
  • Population - United States - Statistics