You can export references directly from CityU LibraryFind into your EndNote library.
1. Open your EndNote library.
2. Enter your search terms into CityU LibraryFind.
3. Click on the pin icon next to a search result [record] to save it for exporting. Repeat to save multiple records.
4. When you have finished selecting records, click on the pin icon on the top right of page to view all saved records in My favorites.
5. You will see the list of records you added to My favorites. Then tick the records you want to export to EndNote.
6. Click on the three dots icon to view the Send to options and select ENDNOTE DESKTOP(RIS).
7. Select Download.
8. The records will be automatically added to your EndNote library by opening the downloaded file.
You can easily import one reference at a time: (To import multiple references, see below.)
1. Click on the menu
3. Change the settings under Bibliography Manager as follows and click Save.
4. Do a search in Google Scholar and select a reference to export from the list of search results.
5. Click on Import into EndNote.
6. To add the reference into EndNote:
Guide for Exporting from Google Scholar to EndNote.
You can import multiple references from Google Scholar into EndNote if you sign in to Google Scholar.
Most Library databases have an option to export records directly into EndNote. Look for links in the databases such as Export or Save and select the .ris format or EndNote option to add the records to your library.
A small number of databases do not have this export option. You can try to import them into EndNote using an appropriate filter for the database.
Guide for adding references
Guide for adding references
SciFindern. Guide for adding references
|HeinOnline. Guide for adding references|
IEEE Xplore Digital Library. Guide for adding references
JSTOR. Guide for adding references
PubMed. Guide for adding references
Web of Science Core Collection. Guide for adding references
If the reference you need is not available in electronic format or if you are unable to import it, you can create a new record for the reference by typing in the details.
1. Select References > New Reference.
2. Select the Reference Type from the drop down menu (e.g. Journal Article, Book, Conference Paper, etc.)
3. Enter the publication details of the reference in the relevant fields (e.g. Author, Title, Year, Volume, Publisher, etc.).
Tips for entering an author's name in the author field:
4. When finished, click on the internal close button (circled above) which will prompt you to save your reference.
If the database you wish to search does not have an option to export references into EndNote, you can save the reference as a text file then try to import it into EndNote using a filter for the database available with the EndNote software.
You can also add references to your EndNote library using Connection Files available with the EndNote software. These files allow EndNote to connect, search and import references from Web of Science, some publicly available databases (e.g. PubMed) and library catalogs using the search function within EndNote.
To use a Connection file:
© City University of Hong Kong | Copyright | Disclaimer