Skip to Main Content

EndNote

CityU LibraryFind | Google Scholar

You can export references directly from CityU LibraryFind into your EndNote library by following these steps:

1. Open your desired library in EndNote if you have multiple libraries.

2. Enter your search terms into CityU LibraryFind and and follow the appropriate steps to export your selected record(s):

  • For a single record:
  1. Click on the three dots (πŸž„πŸž„πŸž„) in the upper right corner of the record.
  2. Select ENDNOTE DESKTOP(RIS).
  3. Click DOWNLOAD.

  • For multiple records:
  1. Check the box next to each record you want to export.
  2. Click on the three dots (πŸž„πŸž„πŸž„) in the toolbar at the top of the search results.
  3. Select ENDNOTE DESKTOP(RIS).
  4. Click DOWNLOAD.

 

3. The records will be automatically added to your EndNote library when you open the downloaded file.

 

You can export references directly from Google Scholar into your EndNote library.

To export a record from Google Scholar, click Cite and select EndNote from the pop-up.

 

To export multiple results, you need to configure Google Scholar. Please view here.

Databases

Most of the Library's subscription databases offer an option to export records directly into EndNote. Look for links such as Export or Save within the databases, and select either the .ris format or the EndNote option to add the records to your library.

A few databases do not offer an export option. In such cases, you can try importing the records into EndNote using the appropriate filter for the database.

Note: More export tips of different online resources are available on Clarivate webpage: EndNote: Direct Export Notes.

Individual databases

Factiva does not offer a direct export option for EndNote. Instead, you need to download the Factiva record as a .txt (text) file and then upload it into EndNote using the Factiva (DJ) Import filter.

 

Steps for exporting references

  1. Do a search in Factiva and review the search results to find relevant records.
  2. Select the records you want to export by checking the box next to each record.
  3. Click Display Options and choose Headline, Lead Paragraph, plus Indexing.
  4. Click the Diskette (Format for saving) icon and select Article Format.

  5. Copy the record from the pop-up window and paste it into Notepad, then save it as a .txt (text) file on your computer.
  6. Open EndNote Desktop, go to File > Import > File....
  7. Choose the text file you saved on your computer. For the Import Option, select the filter Factiva (DJ). Keep the default settings for Duplicates and Text Translation, and then click Import.

  8. Verify the references in EndNote to ensure that all data is complete.

 

Steps for exporting references

  1. Open your desired library if you have more than one.
  2. Go to HeinOnline and log in to MyHein account.
  3. Do a search and review the search results to find relevant records.
  4. Click the MyHein icon next to each result to save a bookmark for the reference you want. Repeat this step as necessary.
  5. Access Saved Bookmarks under the your profile at the top menu bar.
  6. Select  the saved records you want to export to EndNote. In the panel above, choose Export to Endnote (Journal Articles) from the Options menu, then click Submit.
  7. Open the downloaded file, and the references will be imported into EndNote Desktop.
  8. Verify the references in EndNote to ensure that all data is complete.

 

Steps for exporting references

  1. Open your desired library if you have more than one.
  2. Do a search in the IEEE Xplore and review the search results to find relevant records.
  3. Select the records you want to export by checking the box next to each record. Then, click Export on top right of screen.

     
  4. Click the Citations tab, select RIS format, and include Citation and Abstract. Then click Download.

     
  5. Open the downloaded file to import the references into EndNote Desktop.
  6. Verify the references in EndNote to ensure that all data is complete.

 

Steps for exporting references

  1. Open your desired library if you have more than one.
  2. Do a search in JSTOR and review the search results to find relevant records.
  3. Select the records you want to export by checking the box next to each one.
  4. Click Cite in the top toolbar and select Export a RIS file.


     
  5. Open the downloaded file to import the references into EndNote Desktop.
  6. Verify the references in EndNote to ensure that all data is complete.

 

Steps for exporting references

  1. Open your desired library if you have more than one.
  2. Do a search in PubMed and review the search results to find relevant records.
  3. Select the records you want to export by checking the box next to each one.
  4. Click Send to on the menu bar above and select Citation Manager.

     
  5. Click Create file to download the file.

     
  6. Open the downloaded file to import the references into EndNote Desktop.
  7. Verify the references in EndNote to ensure that all data is complete.

 

Steps for exporting references

  1. Open your desired library if you have more than one.
  2. Do a search in the ProQuest databases and review the search results to find relevant records
  3. Select the records you want to export by checking the box next to each one. Then, click the three dots icon in the toolbar to open the All save & export options window.
  4. Select EN (EndNote) icon.

     
  5. Choose to output to RIS format and change the Content to Citation, abstract, indexing. Then click Continue at the bottom.

     
  6. Open the downloaded file to import the references into EndNote Desktop.
  7. Verify the references in EndNote to ensure that all data is complete.

 

Steps for exporting references

  1. Open your desired library if you have more than one.
  2. Do a search in SciFinder and review the search results to find relevant records.
  3. Select the records you want to export by checking the box next to each one.
  4. Click the Download Results (down arrow) icon on the toolbar above.
  5. In the Download Reference Results box, select Citation (.ris) under File Type, then click Download.

  6. Open the downloaded file to import the references into EndNote Desktop.
  7. Verify the references in EndNote to ensure that all data is complete.

 

Steps for exporting references

  1. Open your desired library if you have more than one.
  2. Do a search in Scopus and review the search results to find relevant records.
  3. Select the records you want to export by checking the box next to each one.
  4. Click on Export at the top of the search results, then select EndNote (RIS).

     
  5. Select Citation Information and Abstract & keywords to include author(s), Document title, abstracts and keywords. Click Export.

     
  6. Open the downloaded file to import the references into EndNote Desktop.
  7. Verify the references in EndNote to ensure that all data is complete.

 

Steps for exporting references

  1. Open your desired library if you have more than one.
  2. Do a search in the Web of Science Core Collection and review the search results to find relevant records.
  3. Select the records you want to export by checking the box next to each record.
  4. Click Export in the panel above the search results, and then select EndNote desktop.

  5. In the Export Records box, select Author, Title, Source, Abstract under Record Content . Then, click Export.
  6. Open the downloaded file to import the references into EndNote Desktop.
  7. Verify the references in EndNote to ensure that all data is complete.

 

Steps for exporting references to EndNote

  1. Open your desired library if you have more than one.
  2. Do a search in CNKI and review the search results to find relevant records.
  3. Select the records you want to export by checking the box next to each record.
  4. Click Export and Analysis at the top of the search results, then select Export Reference > EndNote.

     
  5. Click Save to export the references.

     
  6. Locate the downloaded file and open it with EndNote.

     
  7. Verify the references in EndNote to ensure that all data is complete.

 

PDFs

If you have the PDF full text for a reference in your library, you can import it. EndNote will attach it to the matching reference. 

 

Add a PDF document to a matching reference in your library

  1. Select the relevant reference in your library.
  2. Go to References > File Attachments > Attach file. Select the file and attach it. Or, click on the + Attach PDF button on the right panel to attach a PDF file.

 

Add PDF document(s) or folder to create new references

You can upload a PDF document with DOI or a folder of PDF documents into EndNote even if there is no matching reference in your library. EndNote extracts the bibliographic information from the PDF document to create a new reference in your library. 

  1. Select File > Import. Click on File or click on Folder if you have more than one reference.
  2. Click on the Choose button and locate the PDF file or folder you want to add to your library.
  3. Click Open.
  4. Select the PDF import option.
  5. Click Import.

Tip: If a PDF document you have imported is missing information from fields, e.g. author, volume, etc, the Find Reference Updates feature may be helpful.

Manually add references

If the reference you need is not available in electronic format or if you are unable to import it, you can create a new record for the reference by typing in the details.

1. Select References > New Reference.

 

2. Select the Reference Type from the drop down menu (e.g. Journal Article, Book, Conference Paper, etc.)

 

3. Enter the publication details of the reference in the relevant fields (e.g. Author, Title, Year, Volume, Publisher, etc.).

Tips for entering an author's name in the author field:

  • For an individual author: Last name, First name, e.g. Chan, Tai Man.
  • For an institutional author: add a comma after the name, e.g. City University of Hong Kong, Or, add a double comma,, e.g. Run Run Shaw Library,, City University of Hong Kong.
  • For multiple authors: enter each new author on a new line.

4. When finished, click Save button.

Filters and Connection files

If the database you wish to search does not have an option to export references into EndNote, you can save the reference as a text file then try to import it into EndNote using a filter for the database available with the EndNote software.

Note:

  1. In EndNote, select File > Import > File.
  2. Choose the text file you have saved.
  3. Select Other Filters... and choose the relevant filter for the database. Click Import.

 

You can also add references to your EndNote library using Connection Files available with the EndNote software. These files allow EndNote to connect, search and import references from Web of Science, some publicly available databases (e.g. PubMed) and library catalogs using the search function within EndNote.

Note:

  • It is not possible to connect to CityU LibraryFind using a connection file.
  • The search functions in EndNote are not as sophisticated as those available in a database. You may prefer to search a catalog or database directly to get better results.
  • To add Connection Files, select Tools on the top menu bar in EndNote desktop and click Connection Files > Open Connection Manager.

To use a Connection file:

  1. Select an online database under Online Search to search, e.g. PubMed.
  2. Enter your keyword(s) into the search box(es).
  3. To keep the search results to your EndNote library, select those references you wish to add and then drag and drop them into the All References.

Β© City University of Hong Kong | Copyright | Disclaimer